123 Days

The last 123 days have been some of the hardest days of my life and I wouldn’t change a single moment of any of them.

I have gone from bright eyed and full of hope and excitement!

photo 3

To questioning whether Jeremy and I were doing the right thing.

waiting

To whether or not I deserved the abundance that God promises me in His word.

princess

To being angry at God, then having buried emotional baggage rear it’s ugly head at me.

Cries

To suddenly coming to the understanding that the trials I face make me stronger.

dont give up

To completely surrendering to God’s plan, not mine, for my life.

something wonderful

To having a peace in my spirit that surpasses all understanding. Believing beyond a shadow of a doubt that I am deserving of His abundance and trusting Him more than I ever have in my life.

Finally finally, in an interesting turn of events, we have accepted an amazing offer that was over and above what we ever expected. God is GOOD.

photo 5

One day last week I had a last minute showing request.  I almost didn’t accept it.  But…..I did anyway.  I drove down the street (without shoes on) and watched a man drive up to our house, walk around our property, go into the house, come out and leave.  What in the world?  Jeremy called Mike (our realtor) and asked if that was normal.  Apparently it is….so I was like ok whatevs……that night Mike called us with an offer from that man!!!  Turns out he was from an investment firm who buys houses and rents them out.  The offer was ok….better than the Lowballers (funny story about that another time).  So we started working on accepting the official offer and then went to look at houses the next day.  With this offer there were a lot of hoops we were going to have to jump through.  A lot of things that were on their terms. First, they weren’t going to give us time after closing to close on our own home.  Then they weren’t going to do any inspections, then they were…..

The morning we were going to meet with Mike to look at houses we got a showing request for that afternoon.  I sort of laughed it off.  I checked to see who it was, to see if it was a second showing or not, and I didn’t recognize the name.  I approved it but we didn’t take any extra measures to make the house show ready like we normally do.  I mean we cleaned like we normally do but not with OCD-like detail.

When we met Mike he said “Hey guys you know that showing you have today? They are going to make an offer.” Jeremy and I were so confused.  Say what?!  They had been to see the house before but had a different realtor. That’s why I didn’t recognize the name.  I am going to assume they weren’t happy with her, called the number on our for sale sign and were assigned one of the agents who works in Mike’s office.  When he spoke with their realtor he told her “It better be something significant because what they are entertaining now is real pretty.”  That afternoon after looking at 5 houses, only one of which we liked that was also way overpriced, we were feeling really nervous.  We were looking at having to be out of our house in a month & having to rent something!!!  Not what we had in mind.  …..The cash deal was making Jeremy and I feel very uncomfortable.   I told Jeremy that ultimately, this was our house to sell and it would be on our terms, not theirs.

Ever true to his word, Mike called us later that afternoon and told us he had sent the offer from the couple via e-mail.  Sadly, it wasn’t any better than the cash offer and we were a bit disappointed. Then  I remembered something I had just read about making offers.  “The buyer’s offer will be low and is only an invitation to start negotiations.”  I told Jeremy, “They don’t know what the other offer is. They had to start somewhere. Let’s counter.”  They had asked for closing costs so we accepted the offer minus the closing costs.  That would have us making 2,750 MORE than the cash offer.  It ended up being exactly what our asking price was.  There were so many things to consider.  I felt the need to devour a bag of Peanut M&M’s.  I told Jeremy that if it weren’t for the cash offer we wouldn’t think twice about this.  We would be stupid not to take the extra cash.  The worst thing that could happen is that it could all fall through and we would be back on the market.  And you know what?  So what.  We’ve been doing it this long, we can keep doing it.  We are not desperate, we have 5 or 6 other people out there who have loved our house and will be back.  Decision made.

That night I couldn’t go to sleep nor stay asleep.  We accepted the offer officially and now….WE HAVE THE BIG FAT RED PENDING BANNER!!!!!!

But wait, there is still the issue of not having a house to move into……

Since we started looking at houses 4 months ago, there has been one favorite that has remained.  The only problem was that the living room was set up in such a way that wouldn’t allow for our oversized furniture.  We have a HUGE living room and we filled it up with huge furniture and a gargantuan entertainment center that took Jeremy almost a year to build.  Out of the blue, I am convinced it was divine intervention, Jeremy said,  “Amanda…..our couch comes apart.”  “What?” “Yeah, LOOK!”  He unconnected it and we moved it apart.

photo 1

I couldn’t believe it!  With what I am sure were Puss N Boots eyes,  I said “JEREMY…..this changes everything!!!!”  So we got on the phone with Mike and got all the goods on the house.  We are going to look at it again tomorrow at 2!!!!!  YIPPEEEE!  I have this intense sense of urgency to put an offer on it because I can just feel other people’s eyes on MY HOUSE!!!!

But…..deep in my heart.  I know.  That.  It has been on the market all this time, if He has been saving it for us….He will continue to do so.  If not, then He will provide something else.  Even if we have to rent some little shack for a few months…..the trust is there.

photo 2

Accepting an offer on our part is only half the battle. We still have inspections to pass and our own offer and inspections to get through.   I remain confident that it will be easy sailing from this point forward.

leapvia

Leave a Reply

