P90X Day One

Over the weekend Jeremy and I got prepped for P90X.  If we expect to get the kind of results we see on T.V., we have to follow the plan….all of it.  I have said before and many others have too, your body is 80% diet, 10% exercise, and 10% just bein’ happy with what ya momma gave ya!

On Saturday morning we went through the nutrition guide and figured out a menu that would work for each of us and then we compiled a grocery list.  I was able to find a lot of resources on line with approved foods lists.  I found one on Mixed Fitness that made sense to me and printed it out.  I highlighted foods we would eat and we compiled our menus from there.  Jeremy had a bit harder time because 4-5 days a week he is limited to the times he can eat.  But he figured it out and is adjusting it daily.

photo 1 (5)photo 2 (5)

Our main goal is to do our best…..and yes, forget the rest!  Hardy Har Har. Winking smile

The plan calls for a P90X recovery drink and a protein bar.  Jeremy is using a recovery drink that he already uses and I am having a protein shake after my workouts as well as BCAA tabs I had left over from when I attempted Jamie Eason’s LiveFit.  Instead of the P90X protein bars (way $$$$) we are eating Zone Perfect bars.  They aren’t ideal, but it is one compromise we are making because the good protein bars are very expensive and the cheap ones have tons of sugar alcohols which cause major gastrointestinal distress and also have a lot of nasty ingredients.

Monday morning I took all of my measurements, my official beginning weight and my before pictures, then I had some breakfast.  It was later than I should have eaten it and that ended up throwing my eating schedule off the rest of the day.

For breakfast I had 4 slices turkey bacon, 1/2 cup old fashioned oats with 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 tsp. Ideal brown sugar blend and cinnamon.

photo 1 (2)

After my first P90X workout…..YIKES!…..more on that in a minute….I blended up 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder, 1 cup almond milk and some ice then took my BCAA tabs.  A little while later I had my Zone Perfect Bar.

photo 4 (4)photo 2 (3)

photo 5 (4)

Because I was late eating breakfast, my post workout meal was around noon so I wasn’t hungry again until after 3pm.  I ended up eating what I had planned for lunch then.

photo 4 (3)

1 can tuna in water with 1 tbsp. light mayo and a squeeze of mustard, 2 cups of spinach with 1 tbsp. pomegranate vinaigrette.

A few hours later for a snack I had 1/2 cup cucumbers, 1/2 cup carrots and two light cheese sticks.

This was supposed to be my morning snack.

photo 1 (3)

Then around what should have been dinner, I had what was supposed to be my afternoon snack.  It made so much!!!  I slowly ate all of it over the course of an hour!

1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1 cup almond milk, ice, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/2 cup mixed berries.

photo 5 (3)

I didn’t get to my last serving of protein, my fat, or the last of my carbs.  I did have 1 tbsp. of almond butter before bed as my “treat”  Thumbs up

Workout

The first workout was hard in a way I have never felt hard before…..TWSS….It was chest and back day and even though it was basically pull-ups and push-ups….. wow….it was challenging.  I busted out 34 knee push-ups the first round and by the end I was able to barely do three.  That was with me really struggling to get my butt up.  My arms were so fatigued that I couldn’t even fix my hair back into a ponytail.  By the end of the day I could hardly brush my teeth and this morning….I couldn’t even reach up to give my sweet Jeremy and hug.

The first day calls for the Ab RipperX.  OMG…..It is very much a Pilates workout.  I had a very hard time with this.  I was able to get through the first two exercises, but after that I was doing maybe 10 of the next ones before I had to stop.  My arms and legs were wrecked!  I have never done some of the exercises and even though they hurt like you know where, I could tell that THIS is what is going to get my tummy back where it belongs.

When Jeremy got home I took all of his measurements and before pictures.  That was really fun for me!  I felt like I was his trainer!

I was absolutely exhausted by the end of the day and crashed pretty much immediately!

P90X, I may be in-love with you.

Uncomfortablevia

Leave a Reply

