P90X Day 2

I have the mother of all DOMS today my friends.  The soreness I feel right now is deep, in places I didn’t know could hurt.  My lower abs, that blasted pooch area is the most surprising place, my hip flexors.  It hurts to laugh….yeah that kind of sore.  I am reminded of that episode of Friends, “The One Where Chandler Works Out.” Ow, Ow, Ow, Ow, Ow, Ow, ……The good thing is that I can’t whine about it this time.  I have to suck it up and do the work anyway! I was a strange mix of excited and intimidated over today’s scheduled workout.  Plyometrics.  I am very familiar with plyo because of the Jillian and Bob workouts I am so fond of.  But ya’ll….. this one is plyo on steroids.  I was excited because I am twisty like that and I enjoy a good torturous workout,  but genuinely concerned about my ability to perform because of the soreness and fatigue in my hip flexors from the AbRipperX.  I really didn’t know how I was going to make it through but some how, I surprised myself, and I did it.

believevia

******

Breakfast

This morning I ate pretty much right away at 6am even though I wasn’t all that hungry yet.  I made less oats this time because yesterday was really too much.  photo 3

4 slices turkey bacon, 1/4 cup old fashioned oats, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, Ideal and cinnamon.

I got all my morning work done and then it was time……

photo 4

and I survived!

proudvia

Feeling pretty much like I was going to collapse,  I made my post workout smoothie!

photo 5

1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 3/4 cup almond milk and 1/2 cup ice.

Lunch

I was able to eat lunch right on time today!

photo 1 (2)

3 oz. baked chicken seasoned with Mrs. Dash Onion and Herb Blend, 2 cups spinach and arugula blend with 2 tbsp. pomegranate vinaigrette.  After lunch I had my Zone Bar

I also got my afternoon snack in around 3:30, same as yesterday, carrots, cucumbers and string cheese.

Dinner

photo 2 (3)

6 oz. of the baked chicken & 1/2 cup brown rice

TREAT!

photo(1)

All-Natural Fruit Bar & not pictured 1 tbsp. almond butter.

******

P90X has been a very humbling program.  I am thankful for that.  I am thankful to have a “project”.  I am thankful for a new challenge, something that is really hard.  I am thankful to have a goal. I am thankful for my able body.  I am thankful for these sore muscles.  I am thankful that my husband is doing it right along with me. You should see the two of us trying to get around right now….pathetic.

I am not exactly sure how we are going to get through tomorrow’s workout.  I told him I need to watch it tonight so I can mentally prepare myself.

Nighty night friends! Off to foam roll and stretch!

************

As a side note….look at my two hip attachments.  Do they love me, or my personal space heater?

photo 1photo 2

*******

Articles you may like!

Leave a Reply

