Shred-It with Weights

I got myself all ready to go for a run this morning.  It wasn’t raining anymore and running seems to be just the thing I need in my life right now.  I got all my stuff laid out, ready to begin the process of getting prepared for a cold run.  But after I got it all out, the thought of the effort it takes to get it all on, get my gadgets all set, get my key in a certain spot….I was tired just thinking about it!

photo 2 (2)

Then I took a peeksies outside and said forget that…..

photo 1

I was already dressed for a regular workout so I just put my shoes on and looked in my library of workout videos.  I found one that I had bought several months ago that was still in the wrapper!

photo 1 (2)

Awesome!  New workout!

There are 2 levels and I did level 1.  I am not sure what I think about it yet.  My legs are a little shaky but time will tell if it was a good workout for me or not.  Good Workout = DOMS.  As of right now, it’s not my favorite video.  For me, it didn’t have enough cardio so it would be a nice accompaniment to a run.  She uses a kettle bell and I don’t have one so I used one of my hand weights. It felt awkward using them in that manner.  They worked fine but it would be a more effective workout with the right equipment.

I did break a sweat though so I suppose that’s a good sign!

Since I was warmed up I was able to make that green smoothie I have been craving!

photo 3photo 2

Ok so it’s not green but I know what’s in it and it makes me feel better to call it that.

This smoothie had:

  • 1 scoop of Jillian’s vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries (blueberries, black berries, raspberries, strawberries)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • lots of baby spinach
  • 1 cup crushed ice

photo 4

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

