HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I think that New Year’s Day is one of my top favorite holidays.  To me it is symbolic of a fresh start.  It renews my spirit with a sense of anything is possible.

Happy New Year!via

On January 1st 2010 I started a “diet” and through that year and into 2011 I lost 50 pounds and haven’t looked back.  It was such an amazing year for me.  I have grown so much since then.  I know so many people will be embarking on yet another “diet” and I would just like to encourage everyone that will be.  It is possible.  You are completely capable of it.  You are in control of your own life.

I would like to share some of the things that kept me personally motivated through that year.

1. “Treat” yourself without food.  For every 10 pounds I lost,  I rewarded myself.

  • Take a long hot bath with some special bath salts or bubble bath.  Listen to music, light candles, read a magazine.
  • Pedicure/Manicure
  • New clothes (about every ten pounds I needed new clothes anyway!)
  • Facial
  • Massage

2. Find other ways of coping with stress beside turning to food

  • read a magazine or book
  • take a long walk
  • listen to music
  • meditate
  • write

3. Change your mindset.

  • Envision yourself at a healthy weight.  What does your life look like? Focus on that like a hawk.  Create a vision board. Either in real life or on Pinterest!
  • Write down healthy mantras ex. “My stomach is not a wastebasket” “Shut up and Sweat” “I am one workout away from a good mood” One thing that I played over and over in my head was this “Would Jillian eat this?”
  • Realize that you were created for and worth more than a vicious cycle of defeat. You deserve the best that life has to offer.
  • I thought of the whole process as a project.  A challenge. It was one that only I was in control of.  It was one that I refused to fail at.

4. Renew your habits

  • If you always have something sweet after dinner, replace that habit with a peace of gum or a cup of herbal tea.
  • go to bed early
  • decide to only drink water
  • learn to say no and mean it.  “Would you like some cake?” “No…but thank you!”

Happy Habits

via

5. Find what motivates you and stick with it. These are the things that motivated me.

  • Fitness magazines and websites.  I recommend Women’s Health & Fitness Magazine
  • Watching The Biggest Loser. A new season starts on January 6th!!!!  With Jillian returning!!!! I am SO excited about that!!!
  • Thinking about my overall health.  How eating right and exercising is making my heart stronger.  Envisioning my legs getting stronger, my lungs healthier and more elastic. Lowering my cholesterol.  How good it would feel to go to the dr for my yearly exam and not have that horrid anxiety about stepping on the scale.
  • Being an example to my family.
  • Finding great workout music and making awesome playlists.

6.  Finally and possibly one of the most important things is DO NOT give up.

You will have days that you slip up on your diet.  This usually occurred about once a month for me.  I allowed myself to have a “treat day” once a month.  On this day I let myself eat anything I wanted without counting Points. (I used the Weight Watcher’s program)   It really renewed my determination and honestly helped keep me sane!  I think it’s very important that you have days like this every once in a while.  Be careful they don’t turn into “treat weeks”. Smile  Here is a GREAT little article about why having a cheat day is important!  I found it to be very accurate in my experience.

You will have times when working out is just not an option.  Whether its because of your schedule, an illness or injury, or you just are plain too tired.  But honestly, in my experience exercise was only about 10% of the equation.

absvia

It’s all about what food you are putting in your body. Think about the behavior and habits that got you to where you are and don’t do them anymore.  If you want to change, then you have to change.

Goals, not resolutions…

I don’t really set resolutions but I do like to set goals or things that I would like to accomplish in the coming year.

My first goal is to sell this house!  We definitely did not think it would take this long but over the past few months I have learned SO much.  There have been so many many things that I needed to see about myself that I never would have if our wish was granted in an instant.  I am so thankful for these last few months and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.  I am so looking forward to the blessing that will follow these trials.

After we sell the house, move into our new one & get settled, I am going to get my personal training certification! My original plan was to begin in January.  Well, I can’t very well do that when we could have an offer on our house any day now.  Then our lives would be turned upside down and I would be a mess.  One thing at a time is my motto. 

In the fall I am planning on going back to school!  I want to get certified as a registered dietician.  My long term goal is to have my own personal training and nutrition counseling business.  I’d like to help others focus on improving their over all health in a holistic natural way. 

There are some other personal goals I would like to work on spiritually and emotionally.

Some fun things:

  • Do one Pinterest craft project per week.  Silly I know….but for real there is some brilliant stuff on there!
  • Do Yoga with Aidan. 
  • Go on a date with Luke at least twice a month.  We never get “just us” time and he really enjoys it.  So do I!

I wishvia

I wish everyone a happy and healthy New Year.  Good luck with your goals!  You can and WILL do it!

Sites you may enjoy!

4 tips to keeping your New Year’s resolutions – Real Simple

Success Stories – Fitness Magazine

Leave a Reply

