The Plague of 2012

I don’t know about everyone else…..no, actually I do know.  While everyone else was eating treats and frolicking in the beautiful Christmas Snow, this is what we were doing on Christmas!

photo 5 (2)

photo 4 (5)

Grumpycat_dashing_through_the_NOvia

After we did our Christmas Eve traditions of opening our Christmas Jammies and putting out treats for Santa and the reindeer,

photo 3 (7)

photo 1 (6)

DSC00677

We settled down for a good nights rest only to be woken up by The Plague of 2012 striking down it’s next victim.   Jeremy.

Bless his sweet heart.  I made him sleep in Luke’s room.  The next morning I disinfected the entire house for a second time.  Jeremy slept last night for 13 hours and woke up feeling great.  Still very tired and afraid to eat anything, but better.  This morning I disinfected the entire house for a third time and I still don’t feel like it’s clean enough. I never thought I would ever say this, but I am really tired of cleaning!  I have been the Germ Nazi today, driving my family crazy but for real! So far I have not gotten it and I would like to keep it that way!  Luke came home from his dad’s today and I don’t want him getting it either.  They aren’t allowed to even breath in each other’s direction!  Lynn (my dear sweet father-in-law) came down with it, which I feel terrible about.  He said he hadn’t had a stomach virus since 1974!  Everyone else who was here is still well thankfully.  I don’t know how that miracle happened.  Gala (my mother-in-law) slept in Aidan’s bed!!!!  I am still afraid that I am going to get it.  I have absolutely zero appetite. Which presents it’s own set of problems.  So far I have been able to stomach oatmeal, apples and an entire sleeve of crackers.  A cookie here and there.  Yesterday I got a little bit of an appetite and ate two cookies, a few bites of banana pudding and some oatmeal.  Only to immediately  feel like I was going to hurl.  At that point I just knew it was my turn but I went to sleep and woke up feeling better.  Just super fatigued.  I hope I get my appetite back soon.  It’s a good thing we have a big freezer for all of the delicious Christmas treats no one has been able to eat.

Even though the last few days haven’t been ideal, I have to say that I am still very thankful for a few things.

Timing

Jeremy was off the Sat/Sun Aidan got sick and was able to help me.  He was able to help all through the next day and Christmas Eve, until it struck him.  He would be off the next several days in order to fully recover & not have to take sick time,  leaving the department short handed.  I am glad that our family was leaving on Sunday instead of being here in the middle of it all.

Nurturing

I am thankful that I had the opportunity to take care of my son in a way that no one else would.  Things like this create strong bonds between loved ones.  I am thankful I was able to take care of Jeremy the best I could.  And we could laugh about it in a twisted sort of way

Tom Thumb

Christmas morning I drove to 3 different stores thinking they would all be open but that was not the case.  Only Tom Thumb was open.  I had to get crackers, Gatorade, popsicles, tissues, toilet paper, juice, ginger ale, bread and they had all of it!  I am thankful that I had a car to drive there and money to buy the sick supplies.

Most importantly I am thankful it didn’t last long and they are beginning to feel normal again.  I feel like we got jipped on Christmas this year.  Poor A.J. & Jer-Bear.  Sad smile  One day this week I will get to posting about the good parts of our Christmas!

Leave a Reply

