Women’s Health Photo Shoot

photo 1 (2)

About a year and a half ago, actually it was May of 2011, the Women’s Health Facebook page posted a request for anyone who had lost weight to submit their story to Brittany Risher @ such-in-such email…..I was like an overachieving elementary kid, jumping out of my chair with my hand raised….. “OOOH OOH I HAVE ONE!!! PICK ME!! PICK ME!!! I HAVE ONE!” So I sat down and wrote it out, hit send and that was that. I kind of forgot about it until 6 months later when I got a response! Brittany wrote that she thought my story would be perfect for Women’s Health, asked if I was still interested (ummmm ya think?), and if so, to submit more recent photos (i.e checking if I had gained the weight back…NEVER). So I responded, did a happy dance and that was that…… 6 months later……She emails me once again asking if I was still interested & that she would be submitting my story to the editors that week. Say What?! 3 months later…….Jill Waldbieser emails me saying I was chosen for the You Lose, You Win piece in the April 2013 issue. No freaking way!

photo 2

I had to send even more photos, sign a photo release and she let me know that a writer would be in touch with me for an interview…..it was unreal. The beginning of October I had a phone interview, and then on Tuesday the photo director emailed me asking for a good date to do a photo shoot within the next 10 days. Disappointed smile I gave them 3 dates, one being today, not really thinking it was enough time to set up a photographer but wouldn’t cha know….He was available TODAY! So I just went with it. Kenny Braun got in touch with me and we set up a time and a place to meet. We met at Cameron Park in Waco. Since he is based out of Austin, this was a halfway point for both of us. He is such a nice guy. He made me feel so relaxed and gave great direction. I loved watching him scope out the views, he was in a zone.

Last night I kept dreaming that my alarm didn’t go off and I woke up at 8:40. We had to leave by 7:30. I also dreamt that Jeremy got called into work and couldn’t come with me. I woke up every hour. My alarm was set to go off at 4am so needless to say I didn’t get any sleep. My adrenaline and nerves masked any sleep deprivation. I got myself psyched up by listening to Pandora’s 80’s rock station, the same one I usually listen to on my runs, did a lot of positive affirmations, and tried to just plain not think about it. “IT” being the fact that this was a photo shoot for a national magazine. That just made me want to vomit. I couldn’t eat breakfast but managed to eat half a banana and drink some Vitamin Water Zero during the shoot.

The actual shoot was such a blast! It was so fun. I tried to just be in the moment, be myself and stay relaxed. Kenny was so great, such a calm spirit and I think that really helped.

IMG_0396

I trotted down and back, down and back about 20 times.

IMG_0393

Climbed “Jacob’s Ladder” and hopped down the steps all while looking at the camera or off into the distance about 20 times. I finally got the hang of it by the last few shots. Don’t think I didn’t almost bust my tail a few times.

IMG_0432

I skipped on rocks….while looking off into the distance….no easy task. I was pleased with my coordination and not breaking an ankle.

IMG_0427

I jumped of boulders and landed hard on the ground….he decided that was a bit ambitious and didn’t make me do it anymore.

IMG_0438

………and I posed and posed and posed and posed and posed and posed and posed x 50.

After about 3 hours we wrapped and headed over to my fave…..Chick-Fil-A and ordered my usual salad.

photo 1

That was the best salad I have ever had in my life!

Before we came home Jeremy stopped and picked up a Grande Non-Fat Misto for me from Starbucks. I was exhausted but didn’t want to fall into a coma when I got home. So I took a long hot shower, drank my Misto, sat down in bed to write this post and I don’t plan on moving the rest of the night! Best day ever.

photo 4

Women’s Health <——- the best magazine in the history of the world!

3 thoughts on “Women’s Health Photo Shoot

  1. Amanda- I am so excited for you!! You have literally worked your butt off and look at the amazing things that have followed. I am so proud of you and how you have been able to stay focused and discipled to keep the weight off (not an easy task.) I pray for continued good things in your future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

