Not for the Faint

I am quickly realizing that I have serious OCD tendencies.  I have always known this but they are rearing their ugly little heads as of late…Jeremy does too by the way.  His psych exam for the PD even confirmed it!  He’s my lobster.  Anyway, I digress…..Ok, so not the kind where I open and close the door 20 times, but the kind where I obsessively think about things over and over and overrrrrrr. I never ever solve anything this way. I always kick myself in the butt though for wasting so much mind energy on these things.

Take this for example.  There is a particular house I am IN freaking LOVE with…..and I check the status of it like 20 times a day.  Has the price dropped?  Has it gone under contract?  Regardless of the fact that I would immediately get an email if either were the case……I still check it.  I have issues.  So the last few days I have really been working on not trying to control the situation.  If it’s meant to be it will be, if not, there is something better for us.  It’s all about trust in the one who’s really in control of my life here, and it isn’t me.

We listed our house officially on Saturday and Sunday morning as I am walking into church I get a phone call asking to approve an appointment for that afternoon.  I thought “Oh dear God already?  That was quick!”  I mistakenly got my hopes up that for some freakish reason we would sell the house that day.  Hey, it happened to my friend!  Sadly we didn’t hear anything back and I got a little sad.  Nor have we gotten anymore calls to see the house since.  Our realtor (Mike) uses a professional photographer and we are having to wait until tomorrow to have photos taken.  I know once those are up, (hopefully) I will have to be vacating the premises many times a day (hello Target) so people can look through my cabinets and closets.

I haven’t been able to workout for 2 weeks since I had the stiches put in.  Without that outlet, being able to focus on something else other than keeping my house spotless, I am sure my anxiety is super elevated which contributes to the OCDing over houses.  I am normally super laid back but lately I feel like a rabid dog!

Buying/Selling a house = not for the faint.

I have some good news!!! TODAY…..I got the stiches out & steri-strips in!  Fun times!  Annoyed The other good news is that she said I could wait to have those other two spots biopsied at my normal 4-6 month check up.  The 3rd good news is that she cleared me to start running again!!!  Jillian & her plyometric torture will have to wait a while but running is ok’d!  I found it interesting that the skin is only at about 15% strength right now.  I still have to be careful and keep the area bandaged for further healing and reducing scarring.  I keep thinking I am very lucky this wasn’t in a visible area because it’s really not pretty!  SUNSCREEN my friends!  SUNSCREEN!

I would like to publicly thank my amazing husband for holding my hand through both processes.  The man deals with the most gruesome of situations like a champ, but felt slightly faint seeing his bride get cut up!  Sweet thing.  What a man!

Skin Cancer = not for the faint

I haven’t really eaten anything new and exciting lately except for two new shakes.  Aidan is still being a complete brat about anything that isn’t peanut butter, honey and bread or Chick-Fil-A so I am just over trying new recipes right now.  He threw a tantrum on Sunday because Luke and I wanted to go to Sweet Tomatoes and he didn’t.

“Chick-Fil-A isn’t open on Sunday Aidan James!  We are going to SWEET TOMATOES!”

When we got there he ate two bites of pizza bread and two bites of ice cream.. *EYEROLL* Steaming mad

So my shakes…..

This one was Dashing Dish inspired

“Lemon Cream Pie Protein Shake”

I used her base and added 2 tbsp. sugar free lemon pudding mix, & vanilla (to taste).   I also added 1 tbsp. chia seed.  I loved this one!

photo 1

This morning I made her Caramel Apple Pie Protein Shake

It was so spot on!  Delish!

I used Walden Farms Caramel Syrup instead of caramel extract because I couldn’t find it.  This was a GREAT substitution.  I was going to use sugar free caramel syrup but I saw that there were 90 calories in 2 tbsp. and there was no way that was going to happen.

photo 2

*****

So my boys…..my boys, my boys……

Luke's $ Ring

We have discovered Luke’s hidden talent.  Yes, that is a dollar bill folded into a ring! You want to know what he did with this?  It went into the offering tray the next day!

We won’t talk about how I witnessed him ALMOST getting hit by a car while he was riding his bike and crossing the street without looking (<—–knows better) while I was walking Trixie and Aidan was riding his bike in front of me.  No, we won’t talk about the complete come apart I had out in public in our neighborhood.  You know the kind where you are so freaked out that they are in trouble out of love and fear? He isn’t allowed to ride his bike ever again (<—- blatant lie).

raising kids = not for the faint

This would be Aidan’s report card…..

Aidan's 1st Report Card

Yes, my kindergartener. I don’t even know how to begin to explain it. It took two cups of coffee to get through and I’m still having to go back to it to make sure I understand what it’s saying.  He is doing great and even exceeded expectations in the Social and Emotional evaluation!  Way to Go A.J.!!!!  I must mention that while Luke’s wasn’t quite as spectacular of a presentation, he did make straight A’s!

I am really looking forward to getting a little bit of a jog in tomorrow.  I am sure it will be more of a walk but at least it will be a little something!  Slow and Steady!

One thought on “Not for the Faint

Leave a Reply

