7 Stiches

The good thing about having 7 stiches on my hip is that I get to catch up on all my DVR’d shows, all the latest and greatest Pins, and all the health articles I have book-marked to read when I have time <—-(Never)Thumbs upOpen-mouthed smile The bad thing is, well, it hurts and I can’t really move around much. Thumbs downSad smile

But it’s gone and I am so thankful.  I get to go back in two weeks to have the stiches removed and then two weeks later so she can biopsy another spot that looks suspect.  I may or may not have held back a few tears.

If you live in the Arlington/Mansfield/Forth Worth area, Mansfield Dermatology is the place to go! Obviously, I highly recommend going in for a full body skin check!

So enough of that depressing stuff…..lets focus on the good!  TODAY is the “exciting news” meeting!  I can’t wait.

I also made two yummy things this week.  Unfortunately, my attempt at an “Aidan friendly” menu didn’t go over very well.

menu

I don’t know what his deal is.

For the Frito Pie I really wanted to make homemade chili in a crock pot but I just didn’t have that kind of time this week.  So I just used canned chili.  We all (minus Aidan of course) loved the Frito Pie but it would be so much yummier and healthier with homemade chili.

photo 1

I recreated my favorite meal right now. The Sweet Crisp Spinach Salad with Tomato Soup from Corner Bakery.  I have been eating this pretty much everyday!  Yesterday after my appointment, Jeremy picked up the real thing for me from the restaurant and I must say I think I did a good job of copy catting it!  I couldn’t find pomegranate vinaigrette so I used raspberry instead.  I really didn’t notice a difference.   I also added some honey roasted peanuts just because I thought it would be yummy.  The soup I made wasn’t good.  I won’t even talk about it…..Annoyed

One of Luke’s favorite things to eat before Mommy went all health crazy was Bagel Bites.

bagel_bites_cheese&pep

I had a coupon for $1 off Bagel Bites and thought, hmmmm, well, they can’t be THAT bad for you.  Yeah….they are that bad (what’s in them anyway?) and WAY over priced.  So I thought I might be able to easily recreate them!  They aren’t perfectly clean but better than the frozen kind and they taste better too.  Luke helped me make them and thought we had made the best meal ever.  I forgot the veggies on the side but I don’t think anyone but me missed them!

Do you think Aidan liked these?

photo 3

Surely he would….one of the few things he eats voluntarily is Little Caesar’s Pizza.

photo 4

“These are yucky.”

Brat.

Amanda’s Pizza Bagels

100 calories per pizza

Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

I split Mini Bagels (120 calories each) in half and topped them with 1 tablespoon pizza sauce, 1 tablespoon Italian Cheese Blend and 2 turkey pepperonis (quartered).

They were so delicious!!!

Yesterday afternoon I heard some beautiful music coming from somewhere in the house.  At first I thought it was a commercial or something.  It went on and on and then I thought wait….is Luke using his bow?  He’s only been plucking the strings and working on learning the parts of it so far.  I slowly got up and hobbled into the living room. I saw my sweet boy in the dining room doing this.

luke violin

I know my nerves are shot right now but I may have gotten a little pheklempt!

He also brought his “graded papers” folder home yesterday.  There were 10 papers in the folder.  The top one was an 86 that his math teacher wrote a note on.  “We went over this in class?”  Which I found funny because I could just see her doing the same thing I do.  “Luke what is this?  You can do better than this.  I expect more from you.”   All the others were a perfect 100.  I may or may not have teared up a little then too.

As a parent, you do so much correcting and disciplining.  You feel like a big ol’ rotten meanie britches most of the time. You just want the best for your kids. Hearing him play the violin and seeing those 100’s was one of those rare & precious little gifts that comes along just when you need it most.   Little moments like these warm my heart like nothing else.  There is no better feeling in the world to me than seeing my boys do something they are proud of.

4 thoughts on “7 Stiches

  1. Carson didn’t mention you were having stitches! I am glad you were so proactive in getting your skin checked out. I guess Jeremy will get to work on his cooking skills this week 😉 praying that you have a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

