Finally Friday

It’s been a long week friend.  I am glad it’s Friday.  I get to SLEEP IN tomorrow!  Whatever that means!  I pray the boys will have the same thing in mind.  It’s supposed to be rainy all day so hopefully the dark clouds will trick them into thinking it’s still night-night!  One can only hope.

Dinner last night was a delicious comforting bowl of Progresso Light Italian-Style Soup.

photo 1

When school started we changed up our eating schedule to accommodate the famished children that come home in the foulest of moods.  To be honest, I am famished by 4 pm too.  Instead of eating dinner at the traditional dinner time, we eat it after school and then have a snack later on in the evening if we get hungry again.  Most times they don’t or they get hungry for a little something right before bed.  It has been working out so well.  They relax for about 30 minutes then eat dinner. Afterward, I clean up the kitchen while Luke does his homework and Aidan plays.  So by 6 pm we are relaxing and enjoying the evening instead of just getting dinner on the table.  Rushing through it so that I can get them started on their bedtime routine while cleaning dinner dishes.  <—–impossible.  Another advantage is that they aren’t snack, snack, snacking every 30 minutes because 1) they haven’t eaten since 11am and 2) They are much happier having had a full meal because they come home HANGRY!

hangry

I also am not snack, snack, snacking my way to dinner and ending up not hungry for dinner but still unsatisfied because I haven’t had the ritual of dinner.  It’s a win-win.

So…..later in the evening I had a little treat of a Chia Tea Latte and a Luna bar.

photo 2

A few hours later I was hungry again and had an apple, a few almonds and a piece of Jamie’s cinnamon bread.

The Bodybugg looked good again yesterday!  Even though my workout was a bust, I stayed active enough the rest of the day to make up for it I think.

photo 3

*******

Today’s breakfast was the same as yesterday. Nature’s Own Bagel Thin and peanut butter…..I actually sat down for 2.5 seconds to enjoy it! Winking smile  Better than on the run.

The weather in Dallas was dreary dreary dreary.  One of those morning I would have loved to have snuggled back down in the bed and listened to the rain.

Instead I went to the gym and did an upper body workout.  It was a nice compromise.  Even though weight lifting isn’t easy, it is easier than running for an hour when all you want to do is crawl back in bed!

I printed a workout from Bodybuilding.com that I found a few months ago.  It’s a fat loss training program and I REALLY like it.  It has an upper body workout, a lower body workout and then a total body.  I like separating the strength training this way because I think it works well with my body type.  Since I tend to put on muscle pretty quickly and being as short as I am I don’t like to spend too much time on it, but I know it’s essential.  I skipped the air bikes and did 20 minutes on the elliptical instead of the Stairmaster.

photo 5

After my workout I had my ever trusty Luna Bar.

photo 4

Lunch was a Blueberry Banana Protein Shake

photo 1 (2)

Today’s Shake Had:

1/2 cup fat free cottage cheese
1 scoop MRM protein powder
1 cup water
lots of crushed ice
1 tbsp. chia seeds
1/2 frozen banana
1/2 cup frozen blueberries
1 tbsp. sugar-free vanilla pudding mix.

100% delicious!

After talking to my dear friend for 2 hours….I went to pick up my sweet baby girl from the salon.

photo 2 (2)

photo 3

It’s tough being a diva.

What’s funny is that she’s not really a diva.  She’s a total tomboy.  The groomer was not happy when I reminded her not to put bows in her hair.  I said “For real….I can’t explain how much we both hate them!”

After school the guys ate yummy delicious greasy pizza from Little Caesars and I had a French bread pepperoni pizza from Lean cuisine!

lean cuisine

It’s ok though, I had a cookie afterwards.

kashi cookie

Kashi Cookie

Sorry there is no lovely picture because I am sure we have all seen a lean cuisine pizza but honestly I was so hungry I forgot until it was half gone….and the cookie, I was just too excited about having a cookie.

Sadly, the cookie wasn’t very good.  I am surprised because I love Kashi foods.  Especially the dark chocolate oatmeal cookies.  Strangely enough it started to taste good about four bites into it.  I think the flavor of the cookie didn’t agree with the spicy pizza I had just eaten.  I will just have to try it again!

We are planning to watch Snow White and the Huntsman tonight but what I really want to do is watch my DVR’d X Factors!!!  We’ll see who wins! The odds are not in my favor….I am out numbered ya know!

2 thoughts on “Finally Friday

  1. haha bummer to hear about the cookie! I just got them at Target because I had a coupon AND they were on sale — is that why you decided to try them too? I havent tried them yet, but now i’m a bit apprehensive 😛

    • HAHA! YES! That is exactly why I bought them! They are not terrible, just not as good as I had hoped and I think that is why I was disappointed! I love me some almond butter and they tasted nothing like almond butter. They remind me of a breakfast cookie…..I really think they would be good on their own, with some coffee or tea.

Leave a Reply

