New & Old Faves + a plea from me

Things are back to normal around here finally. I am so glad. I thrive on a routine and schedule and so do my kids. I have found it really remarkable that all last week while the boys were away, I didn’t need a nap or feel the slightest bit tired at any point. Yesterday by 2 pm, I crashed and burned. It may have had something to do with the fact that I got a solid 8-9 hours of sleep every night last week and then Sunday night I was up every hour with a small child who wouldn’t stay in his bed. Could it also have had something to do with the fact that BOTH children were up at 5 am with me? Even though I could really use a nap right now, I am so delighted to hear them playing with army guys in Luke’s room right now. I know for a fact that the break was so good for my mental and physical health. I have found myself calm and assertive instead of screaming with a headache and frazzled nerves. THANK YOU MIMI AND PAPA for taking them for an entire week so I could re-charge!

energy thieves

Sunday night I made a new recipe from my Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet Cookbook

photo 1

New Favorite Recipe:

Taste of Home Baked Tilapia

This was incredible. THIS COOKBOOK is simply the best.

Old favorite breakfasts:

photo 2

These were my breakfasts the last two days

Above: 1/2 sandwich thin with 1 tbsp. JIF natural peanut butter (yesterday morning)

Below: 1 tbsp. Justin’s Maple Almond Butter on a banana (this morning)

photo 5photo(10)

Microwave the banana and nut butter for 30 seconds for a warm delicious breakfast or snack.

Old favorite post work out snack:

Dannon 0% Greek Yogurt in Blueberry w/ 2 tbsp. homemade granola

photo 3

I had this yesterday after the gym along with an apple

New Favorite Meal:

This was dinner last night and most likely I will have it again tonight. I am not a fan of a heavy dinner so I REALLY like having this low calorie/nutrient rich smoothie.

Healthy Smoothie:

  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 small banana
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • ~ 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1 scoop EAS Lean 15 Protein Powder in Vanilla
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds

photo 4

Old favorite workout:

Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred.

Over our vacation last week I decided to take an extended break from my workouts. Meaning I didn’t workout for 7 days. The break was nice. Very nice, but I was more than ready to get back in the gym Monday morning. Much to my surprise…I was not able to do what I had been able to do the week before! Imagine that. My heart rate was crazy high so I had to keep it slow and steady. I broke a sweat after just 10 min of jogging at 5.0 mph. I guess it was a good reminder of my humble beginnings. Yesterday and today I have been easing back into my old workout routine by breaking it up a little. Yesterday I jog/walked on the treadmill in the morning for 30 min and then in the afternoon I did level 2 of Shred. Today all the treadmills were taken so I had to use the elliptical machine. Thumbs down I just did 30 minutes on that and then when I got home I popped in Shred again. Aidan loves to workout with me. I have a secret prayer that we will be running buddies someday!

photo 2 (2)photo 1 (2)

and listen…if my 5 yr. old can do it….SO.CAN.YOU!

Today’s lunch was YUM! Maybe a new favorite.

I put a Morningstar Asian veggie patty on a FlatOut flat bread and grilled it in my Panini Maker, along side some strawberries and baby carrots.

photo 3 (2)

……and THEN these came!!!!

NEW FAVORITE!

We found these at the Allen Outlet last week but they didn’t have my size. So we ordered them and they came today!

Nike Women’s Flex Trainer

photo 4 (2)

super light and comfortable.

photo(11)

they came with hot pink laces that I will be putting in ASAP.

photo 5 (2)

Nothing better than a new pair of running shoes!!! I do love my K-Swiss Tubes, but it was high time for a new pair! The tubes will retire to my running shoe graveyard.

*****

I wanted to share a really great post that I read on another healthy living blog that I love.

“You Can’t Out Exercise A Bad Diet”

She hit the nail on the head with this post. I couldn’t agree more with everything she said.

Now it’s time for me to get on my soapbox. I try not to give advice on here, only what I have experienced personally. Everyone is different and different things work for different people.

I see time and time again people jump head first into a fad diet (think low or no carb), excluding entire food groups. Start an intense workout regime like P90X or Insanity when they haven’t so much as walked a full mile in ten years. They expect their lives and bodies to change over night or they believe they have found a miracle! I know there are a lot of exceptions but I think 9 times out of 10 they have set themselves up for failure, defeat, gaining more weight, feeling hopeless or unworthy.

I have done the same thing. I have done it all. Adkins, South Beach, Hydroxycut, Xenedrine, Weight Watchers, starvation….. I have learned one thing. I must do everyday what I know I can do for the rest of my life. Can I live with no bread? Can I do 2-3 hours of a workout 5-6 days a week? I could, but would I want to? It isn’t sustainable. I have seen time and time again (myself included) people start out sprinting on Monday, but then peter out by Friday because they are burned out already. And rightly so!

Then there is the diet situation. You can’t out train a bad diet. You can workout all you want but if you don’t change your diet, cut waaay back on drinking (or better yet, quit all together), quit smoking, quit staying up all night….working out isn’t going to do a thing for you. DIET & Exercise. When I lost the first 30 lbs., I wasn’t working out at all. It wasn’t until I hit a plateau that I started working out. It’s been said, 80% diet 10% exercise and 10% genetics. This is the absolute truth.

So I am going to get off my tangent now and just pray that if you are serious about getting in shape and getting healthy, you will take a look at the entire picture. Look at what needs to change, what you are willing to change for a lifetime and start there. Start by just going for a walk, then a jog….start by weaning yourself off soft drinks or for crying out loud quit stopping at fast food joints, better yet, quit eating out all together. Most would be floored at the calorie bombs these places serve up. Horrific. Educate yourself on what you are putting in your body & get real & honest with yourself.

Leave a Reply

