A Civil War and a Great Wolf Adventure

I’m not going to lie. I wasn’t prepared for the summer break. I didn’t know I needed to be. My children love each other. Or so I thought. Last week was like a civil war around here. Do any of you know how mentally exhausting it is to be a peacemaker? I didn’t, but I do now! Thankfully Jeremy is on vacation now and the boys will be going to Mimi and Papa’s house next week. Vacation! Couldn’t have come at a better time. I love my kids more than anything but…..sometimes, a sistah needs a break!

On to happier times…..

Monday-Wednesday the past week we took our little family to Great Wolf Lodge in Grapevine, Tx.

DSC00595

DSC00536DSC00541

We stayed in a Wolf Den

1000-Wolf-Den-Suite

This picture in not mine, it was taken from the website. But this is what it looked like. The boys were in heaven in that little den. I guess I could have climbed up on the counter for a shot? Next time for sure!

DSC00542DSC00543

Enjoyed a beautiful view from our room. That’s the Gaylord Texan in the distance.

DSC00555

Slid down these slides not nearly enough.

DSC00561

Got splashed by this thing that howls and sprays water every 15-20 minutes.

DSC00559

Mom and Dad attempted to work on their tan while wearing SPF 50,

DSC00560

and watching the boys swim their little hearts out.

DSC00563DSC00557

They made me laugh with these goggles

photo 2photo 1

The first night we ate at Fuddruckers. I was absolutely starving by this point and forgot to take a picture. So I took one of what was left. This would be the pattern over the next few days. I got the turkey burger and fries. I divided the meal in two, ate half and boxed up the rest. Which I never ended up eating. Thumbs down

photo 1 (2)

There were cuddles with the little one,

photo 2 (5)

….and the big boy was attached at my hip the entire time.

photo 4 (4)photo 5 (3)

Ice cream at the Bear Paw Sweets & Eats.

DSC00586

the little one was attached to Daddy’s hip the entire time.

DSC00594

I am not quite sure why he has started with this all of the sudden…Confused smile

photo 3 (2)photo 4 (2)

The Iron Horse Fitness Room in the hotel was really great. I was so excited to use their fancy treadmill! We all worked out Tuesday morning and on Wednesday morning I got up super early to work off those ice cream cones. Yes….THOSE…as in plural. As in two to be precise!

photo 3 (3)

photo 1 (3)

photo 5 (2)

There was a small crisis that my brilliant son averted.

“Jeremy….I left my running shoes by the front door yesterday morning….”

“Mommy, you can wear my shoes!”

“Oh my gosh….Luke you are brilliant! I CAN wear your shoes.”

They were a little big believe it or not, but they did the job!

DSC00567

In order to still eat healthy while on vacation, we always pretty much pack our entire pantry…We also went to the grocery store to stock up on cold foods that we kept in the refrigerator in the room. Minus the Fuddruckers and breakfast Wednesday morning we snacked all day and had cereal and sandwiches for our other meals.

This is also a good idea if you are the type who is not inclined to spend a small fortune on food.

DSC00571

Aidan and I enjoyed our “Waterpark Picnics”

DSC00576

Not wanting to wait a few minutes before swimming….he decided to ignore us.

DSC00577

There is a game called MagiQuest.

They love it. They actually were able to finish the game this time! The last time we went, it was for only one night and they didn’t get nearly enough MagiQuest time.

The game is described as this….

“With a magic wand in-hand, you’ll explore an enchanted kingdom and join in the ultimate adventure as you enchant objects, befriend a pixie, learn from an ancient wizard, battle a goblin and outwit a dragon. We guarantee this live-action adventure game is unlike any other you’ve ever played. You’re sure to become legendary when the getaway you planned becomes epic.” – Great Wolf

It is like Zelda except its in real life! Super cool. They have these wands that you point at different objects through the entire hotel. The objects talk to you and do all kinds of cool stuff. That’s all they wanted to do….

DSC00580

DSC00582

I always poke fun at them (Jeremy included) for being video game nerds….

This is my impression of them!

DSC00583

Aidan was exhausted one evening so while Luke and Jeremy played the game, we went back and pretended to swim in the ocean with our “Snerkle”

photo 3 (4)photo(5)

I indulged in my own personal guilty pleasures!

Over-priced coffee and gossip magazines? Yes please!

photo 5 (4)

Wednesday morning we went to I-Hop for breakfast. I got the Simple and Fit Whole Wheat French Toast. Once again I was starving and Luke said “MOMMY! You forgot to take a picture!”….soooo once again this is what was left.

Our first visit to Great Wolf was for Luke’s 9th birthday.

PA232988DSC00598

PA232865DSC00599

PA232909

Trust me, I was mortified when I saw that my child had his mouth on the bears nose. Mortified.

DSC00597

It was such a great time and we are going to (God willing) make this a yearly trip for as long as we can! I don’t think the boys will EVER out grow it.

Leave a Reply

