New Go-To recipe

My my my, do I have a new go-to recipe for my collection!  Actually, make that two!

Healthified Lasagna

photo 1 (2)

&

Pesto Muffins

photo 2 (2)

Wow, so so good!

photo 3

I used lean ground turkey instead of the lean ground beef that the recipe calls for and I used Bertolli Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce instead of the Muir Glen, but other than that I didn’t change a thing!

We could make it a bit healthier by using eggs whites instead of one whole egg, whole wheat noodles (I looked for them but couldn’t find any) and possibly fat-free cottage cheese in place of the ricotta.  Over all it is a really healthy recipe!

My picky eater said that it was his new favorite thing I make!  Win!

The Pesto Muffins were wonderful!  I have never had anything like them.  Picky Eater loved them too, that was until I told him the crunchy things were walnuts….he doesn’t like walnuts.  I should have told him it was candy….Annoyed

Here are the links for the recipes:

Eat Better America Healthified Lasagna

Taste of Home Pesto Muffins

Looking forward to a week of leftovers and possibly some to put away for a rainy day!

********************

Todays breakfast was a break from the norm.  I wanted some oatmeal, some yogurt, some peanut butter, and a smoothie.  But since I couldn’t eat all that,  I settled on a parfait of sorts.

photo 4

Chobani 2% Low-Fat Strawberry Banana Greek Yogurt, 1/4 cup homemade granola, 14 natural almonds.

Workout

Next up was Spin class!  I was sad this morning when it wasn’t my favorite instructor who opened the door…..Annoyed  I thought, oh no…. I hope she isn’t a drill sergeant….I’m not prepared for that.  She wasn’t, she was easy….but easy = me not getting a very good workout.  On the upside, she was fun and breezy so it made the hour pass quickly.

Lunch

I was still craving that smoothie!  So I whipped one up!

photo 1

Please excuse my rude finger for photo-bombing.

I was excited about my creation today because I picked up the super food KALE during my last grocery trip.  I have never had kale and was pumped to add it to my super healthy all-in-one meal.  Since I got so brave with the spinach last week I thought I would branch out a little more!  While I was getting it out and rinsing it off, I tried a little piece.  I chewed it up a little, not bad…..a little more, um eww….…..a little more and then I spit it out in the sink.  Wow, was it bitter!  I went ahead and put a large handful in my smoothie thinking everything else would drown out the kale the way it does the spinach.  Wrong.  Ornamental Kale is very strong come to find out!  I drank the smoothie anyway trying to ignore the bitter undertone & thinking of all the health benefits.  I put the remaining bunch of kale down the garbage disposal.  Note to self, Ornamental Kale is not for smoothies!

Here’s the rundown of the nasty super healthy smoothie:

  • 1 large handful of kale
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup fresh raspberries
  • 1 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 scoop EAS Lean 15 Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 1 tbsp. chia
  • 1/2 tbsp. coconut extract.

Side note….the smoothie as fantastic BEFORE I added the kale, and it was extremely filling.

Snack

photo 2

2 Wasa crackers (light rye), 2 slices Hormel Natural Choice Deli Turkey, 1 slice (split) Sargento Reduced Fat Provolone.

For the rest of the day I will be finishing up the mountain of laundry and playing referee for two little boys who can’t seem to be within 5 feet of each other with out one of them screaming bloody murder.

I am ALSO going to prep THESE for breakfast in the morning!

Have a GREAT DAY friends!

Questions:

Have you ever had kale? What type do you prefer?  How do you use it?

6 thoughts on “New Go-To recipe

  1. Yeaahh… the ornamental Kale is that junk they put on your plate to “display” like lettuce and tomato on the side of your burger or lemon for your fish… it is TERRIBLE. The regular, non-ornamental Kale (meant to eaten) is really pretty good. I know you can make kale “chips”, altho that doesnt sound too tasty but people seem to like it http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-kale-chips/ … but i’ve had it sauteed with spinach or by itself… there’s a bunch of recipes! Suddenly now i’m craving kale 🙂

Leave a Reply

