3rd time’s a charm

I slept in this morning until almost 7:30 and it was so lovely!  I had a 9 am spin class that I wanted to make so I quickly QUICKLY drank my coffee, got the boys ready, grabbed a banana and headed out the door.  It was, no surprise, great again.  There was a new teacher and I really liked her.  She was super laid back and had some kick butt music.  Music is the secret ingredient to a great workout for me.

photo 1photo 2

Aidan got a haircut yesterday.  He wanted his hair “like Daddy’s”.  So precious.

I had to go run some errands after the gym so I ate a new bar called a uber Bar by Lara Bar to hold me over until I could get home for lunch.

Lara Bar

WOW, YUM!

When I got home I threw together some leftovers from last night along with 1/2 cup of chickpeas and red kidney beans.

photo 3

May lack of breakfast was apparent by my appetite at lunch.  After my veggie bowl I ate a Tone-It-Up muffin and a Chewy Brownie Cupcake smothered in PB Thumbs up

photo 4

The boys and I just chilled out and did some chores around the house the rest of the day until it was time for me to get started on my homemade pizza dough for the Healthified Pizza I made tonight.

photo 1 (2)

photo 2 (2)

Healthified Fresh Mozzarella & Tomato Pizza

Let me just talk ad nauseam about this pizza crust.  The first time I made a yeast bread was about 3 1/2 years ago and I had help from my amazing mother-in-law who learned from the best of the best at making yeast breads, HER mother-in-law.  So, I was pretty much starting over. Thank goodness for Google and my Cooking Light Cookbook.  With the first packet of yeast,  I learned what 110 degree water really feels like but I will still use the new thermometer I bought just for this occasion next time. For the second packet of yeast I learned that just because the recipe doesn’t say to give the yeast sugar, it’s probably best to go ahead and add it. And for the third and final packet of yeast, when my yeast mixture finally bubbled after 8 minutes…. I learned that this is going to take a lot of practice and now I am obsessed with making yeast breads.  After I kneaded the dough for what probably wasn’t long enough and most likely added too much flour during the process, I put it in the window to rise.  I was exhilarated to see it had risen!  Then I put it in the fridge to rise some more (per the directions) for 2 hours.  When I took it out to bake, it had risen a bit more (YAY!) and I rolled it out onto the pizza sheet.  It seemed a bit tough but I didn’t really know what it was supposed to feel like.  When all was said and done, it was….meh.  A little dense, a little tough.  Not Pizza Hut by any means but then again it didn’t have a cup of oil in it either.  All in all I think it was a pretty good result and will try it again soon or look for some other recipes.   I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour so I am pretty sure that had something to do with the texture.   The rest of the pizza besides the crust was wonderful.  It was also my first time working with fresh mozzarella and the tomato basil combo is one of my favorites.  I am glad I have some healthy food waiting for me over the next few days!

Question of the day…..

Are you a yeast bread making master?

I’d love any tips and tricks!

3 thoughts on “3rd time’s a charm

  1. My mom is a master for sure! I’ve made it a few times but not recently. The King Arthur bread flour (in the blue bag) is great. It’s not whole wheat, but it’s unbleached and all natural. You’ll get the best, non-cardboard tasting breads/crusts/etc. with reg flour =) and it’s still better for you than the premade stuff! What’s the recipe you used?

    • I saw on several links that King Arthur is the best flour! I am now realizing that there are many different ways to make yeast bread and every recipe is different. I am glad that I didn’t to a stitch of research before hand (like I normally do before taking on a new task). I would for sure have said….yeah, never mind! I also realize now that I shouldn’t have substituted the whole wheat flour because that’s a whole different recipe. Man, I wish I could go visit your mom! I think I need to have my MIL make a special trip just for bread baking lessons!

Leave a Reply

