Burnt Fur Stinks

In the morning before anyone gets up, I come to my spot at the dining room table and read, pray for strength, wisdom and grace to make it through the day, wake up, have some coffee.  Sometimes I like to light a candle and just bask in the peaceful loveliness of it all.  My cat……..likes to invade my space during this time.   It’s ok though, she doesn’t talk or ask for anything and her purr is quite relaxing as well.  This morning she caught her tail on fire.

I heard this WHOOSH sound and looked up to see her TAIL…..ON FIRE!  I don’t even know what happened after that but the next thing I knew there were bits of singed hair all over the table and the nastiest stench in the air.  Poor thing.  She was fine, didn’t even know what was going on and why her relaxed momma was all the sudden freaking out.  As she traveled from room to room her stench followed her and didn’t go away until well after I had lit every single candle and Scentsy lamp I own.  Good Morning Tuesday!

Breakfast

photo 1 (2)

1/2 Orowheat sandwich thin, 1 tbsp. JIF Natural PB, sprinkle of chia and cinnamon, 1/2 small banana

Workout

60 min. Spin

It was AWSOME today. I think I am finally getting the hang of the bike and the resistance. I had a lot of fun today and didn’t once feel woozy or feel like I needed to back off. I love the instructor on Tuesday.  She is very mind-body oriented and is always saying just the right thing at the right time to make you dig deeper into that zone when you just THINK you are giving it your all.  She made me dig deep out of that comfort zone.  She said something this morning that I think only I and one other person understood.  She was encouraging us to up the resistance & then she said,

“If you want to stay the same, stay the same, if you want to change, then change.”

Snack

Apple & 2 pieces of protein bread

Lunch

photo 2 (2)

1/2 cup cucumbers, 7 carrots, 1 cup cantaloupe, 1/4 cup blueberries, 1/2 a serving of my tuna salad recipe

photo 3

Dannon Greek Yogurt in Key Lime with Cinnamon Teddy Grahams

Dinner & Dessert

photo 1 (3)

Morningstar Chik’n Patty, Alexia Chipotle Sweet Potato Fries, Green Giant Seasoned Steamers Tuscan Seasoned Broccoli.

This was the first time I have tried this broccoli.  I tried to find it on-line but I couldn’t.  The description on the bag says it’s seasoned with a parmesan cheese sauce and Tuscan inspired seasonings.  It was delicious!  Even Luke liked it and that boy doesn’t like anything but pizza & cake.

I have been looking and looking, “pinning”, book marking, and tearing out all sorts of recipes from my magazines.  This one from Spark Recipes was one that I thought sounded really good!  I had all the ingredients on hand so I gave it a go.  I warned everyone that they are “HEALTHY” brownies so don’t expect much.

photo 2 (3)

photo(2)

Chewy Cupcake Brownies from Spark Recipes.

They are good!  They don’t taste like real brownies but they are a nice treat for those who are watching their figure and would like a sweet treat.  I like recipes like this because they satisfy my sweet tooth without making me want to eat the whole pan or batch,  or the entire remaining bag of chocolate chips….Who me?  NEVER! In love

I substituted the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour and added a packet of Starbucks VIA to the dry ingredients.  I don’t think either one made a difference in taste.  I will definitely be making these again.  I might try a glaze of some sort the next time.  They’d be good with a smear of PB too!

…and the boys weren’t too terribly disappointed! L even asked for one in his lunch tomorrow!

WIN!

Afternoon Happenings

This afternoon we had to go to Petco for some cat food.  We always love going there to see all the sweet little animals.  They had some kittens there today!  We would have a zoo if we could.  Jeremy even wants horses and cows someday.  Never gonna happen but…just sayin, we love animals around here.  Aidan is forever rescuing bugs and critters, I swear the child would bring in an armadillo of he had the chance!

photo 1

photo 5

photo 2

This came in the mail!  Oh HAPPY DAY!

******

photo 4

My friend Cheryl shared this on her Facebook page today and I just loved it.

Jeremy and I have definitely been through our fair share of trials.

Today was an all around great day!  Tomorrow is Luke’s next to last day of school, only a half day!  I am excited for him, I know he is ready.  He will be going to his dad’s house for the entire month of July this year so I am going to have to make the most of the few weeks we have before he goes.  Sad smile

I am hoping to MAYBE go to BootCamp in the morning but its at 8:15am and I am just not quite sure I will be able to make it that early.  I am certainly going to try!  Wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

