Last Date Day

Aidan’s last day of school was yesterday and it was our last “Date Day”.  The boys will be going to spend a week with Mimi and Papa over the summer so we WILL get to have another date or two over the summer, but besides that…this was it until Aidan starts K in the fall.  Then we will have tons of them!  It’s so crazy to me that we are finally moving into the next phase of our lives.  I was changing out some of the pictures in our frames last night and found one of Luke at age 5.  Then I put Aidan’s 5 year picture next to it and thought….Wow, where has the time gone?  Cliché, I know, but it’s the truth.  Seems like yesterday……It’s so bitter sweet.  I am happy, relieved, hopeful, excited about the future.  Being able to finally do some of the things I have only dreamt about being able to do over the past 10 years, having sense of freedom.  But at the same time, I am sad that my baby boys are growing up so fast.  It makes me want to savor every moment and sad that life is so busy and hectic that I can’t.  I just pray I am not missing valuable opportunities to teach them, love them and nurture them.  I pray that I am not making mistakes I will regret later.  I pray that they will grow up knowing beyond a shadow of a doubt that I love them more than anything and that our house and our family is their sanctuary in this messed up world.

Ready for our date!

photo 1 (2)

Breakfast

photo 1

Orange and not pictured, a bowl of oatmeal.

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 tbsp. natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbsp. Ideal Brown Sugar Blend

Outfit

photo 3

I tried on about 27 things before settling on this….I don’t know why I even bother with more than a t-shirt and jeans….it’s what I always end up wearing anyway.

  • Shirt: American Eagle
  • Jeans: New York & Company
  • Sandals: Target
  • Watch: Fossil
  • Bracelets: Charming Charlie

Our first stop was to Sephora.  I finally picked a new fragrance after trying the ones in the Sephora Fragrance Sampler that Jeremy got for me a few weeks ago.

photo 2 (2)

 Michael Kors Gold

“This fragrance brings together iconic yet complementary scents to create the perfect accessory. Exquisitely alluring notes of magnolia and freesia blend with delicate violet flowers to cast a brilliant sparkle that commands attention. The headiness of tuberose and the peppery hint within peony meld together for a sensational presence at the fragrance’s heart. The finishing glow of ambergris drapes you in a sexy aura of gorgeous, glimmering gold.” – description of the scent on Sephora.

Who writes these?  I love it!

Then it was time for our movie.

The Avengers

via

I wish I was like everyone else and could say this movie was the best movie ever made, but for me it was not.  Let me just say first that I really like super hero movies.  I love the witty humor. I love the heroism. And of course there is usually a love story.  My favorite super hero is Iron Man.  Robert Downy Jr. is just adorable.  I loved the first part of this movie, but by hour 2, I was bored.  All I could think about was how much longer would this be going on and what I wanted to eat for lunch.  It was so freaking loud and the violence was just way over the top for me.  I was getting a headache.  I know….what did I expect?  I just have a short attention span and anything longer than two hours is just too much.  Over all it was a good movie, just (IMO) did not live up to the hype.  Definitely a guy movie.  My favorite part was when Hulk smashed Loki like a rag doll.  I couldn’t stop laughing.  There have been a few people I wish I could have done that to.  Smile  KIDDING!!! not really.

So all I could think about during the last part of the movie was this salad. Actually, not this salad but THIS salad.  The Chick-Fil-A in our mall didn’t have it so I settled on the regular one.  I should have ordered a fruit cup and put it on top.  Definitely next time!

photo 4

Chick Fil A Chargrilled Chicken Salad

I added the sunflower seed and crouton packets and used fat-free honey mustard.

and then this happened…..

photo 5

Small Snickers Blast from Sonic

I am not sure what got into me.  I don’t think I have had something like this in….well, ever.  I think I was wanting a Blizzard from Dairy Queen but we don’t have one around here.  I had been craving one since Sunday and suggested….(during the movie) we take Aidan to get a milkshake to celebrate his last day of school.  What was up with that too?  I never “celebrate” with food.  At least I try not to SAY we are, even if we are.  Sadly, this wasn’t even that great, but you better believe I ate all of it and had a stomachache afterwards.  At least I got THAT out of my system!

I spent the remainder of the day chillin out on the couch or just putzin around the house.  Jeremy and I stayed up too late and since I was still full (and nauseous) from the Sonic treat, I had skipped dinner.  Of course by 10pm I was starving.  First I had an apple.  That just made me hungrier.  Then I had an Annie’s PB&J granola bar & finally had a bowl of cereal.  Not exactly the best things to be eating right before bed but it’s whatever.

We don’t have any plans today besides going to the gym this morning.  I do need to catch up on some housework and about billion other things.  Hopefully I will be able to get all those things done for my sanity!

I stumbled upon this article yesterday while I was in my sugar coma on the couch from the Sonic Blast

Best Health and Fitness Apps – Greatist

I downloaded Stress Check, Epicurious, ShopWell and Fooducate.  Then I scanned almost all of my food items obsessively.  Thankfully they all came up with good scores!

I hope everyone has a BEAUTIFUL Friday!!!

Leave a Reply

