Finally, a simple day…

Wow, it has been a long day!  I woke up bright and early at 5am thinking of 20 different reasons I should go back to bed.  But, I just put one foot in front of the other and went to get my coffee.

coffeevia

Right?

Breakfast

photo 1

Orange and my usual smoothie.

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 scoop EAS Lean 15 protein powder
  • 1 tbsp. chia seed.

I got some frozen peaches today at the grocery store soooooo, hopefully a new smoothie concoction will arise!

Workout

I was still incredibly sore from my workout on Monday. I am not sure why. Maybe because I took 3 days off from working out, maybe because I pushed myself a little harder because it was easier this time around. I don’t know, but….it still hurts to sit, stand & walk….I knew a few things this morning.  1- the last thing I wanted to do was workout.  2- I knew working out today was not a choice because I am most likely only going to be able to get 3 workouts in this week, and today was one of them. 3- the best cure for sore muscles is to do the same workout you did that made you walk like Frankenstein in the first place.  4- I knew that if I went to the gym, I would definitely be phoning it in on the elliptical at a level 8 for the entire 30-45 min.  I needed someone to kick my tail.  Jeremy mentioned he wanted to try Bob’s workout so I knew immediately that’s what I wanted to do.   I have to admit, I was concerned about Jeremy’s well-being during this workout.  He can curl 55lb dumbbells and bench press 225….but the man can’t spend 10 min in the treadmill without looking like he is about to die.  I told him over and over…..please don’t over do it….set your weights down during the jump squats…..take a breather if you need to.  Well, I was very proud of him for getting through the entire workout AND doing pretty much all of it.  I can’t say the same for myself the first time I did it.  As for me, today was the first day I didn’t immediately regret the decision and feel like I was going to die half way through.  I even did the very last jump squats, something I have never been able to do before.  I am SO glad I did this workout again today.  When I started, I didn’t want to workout, I felt sluggish, sleepy, sore and a was having a little bit of exercise guilt for not wanting to workout.  Afterwards I felt revitalized, refreshed and tired but full of energy!  Plus I had worked some of the soreness out.  I am still sore but not as bad.  I am sure I will be sore again in the morning….I am not kidding you, it is no joke!

Snack

photo 2

I started out with just one teaspoon of peanut butter which turned into 3 teaspoons….and then had a Gala apple.

Lunch

photo 3

Baked Sweet Potato with Best Life Buttery Spray, 1 tsp. Ideal Brown Sugar Blend, Van De Camps Parchment Bake Garlic Butter Tilapia, Annie’s PB&J granola bar

Afternoon Snack

I am not sure what possessed me to throw this together, but it was REALLY delicious.

photo 4

1 cup fresh strawberries, 1 cup watermelon, 2 tbsp. reduced-fat feta cheese.

a few hours later…..another PB&J granola bar

Dinnerphoto 5

Turkey and reduced-fat Swiss cheese with light Miracle Whip and Dijon mustard on a Thomas’ whole wheat bagel thin.

I didn’t get home from the grocery store until about 6:30 and arrived way too hungry.  It took me a while to settle on what I REALLY wanted….but this was perfect.  Can’t go wrong with a plain Jane sandwich! After dinner I had 1 cup of Honey Bunches of Oats dry.

I am really looking forward to tomorrow.  It’s Aidan’s last day of school.  They are having a picnic & Jeremy and I are having our last date for a while.  We are going to see The Avengers and I am not sure what else.  But that’s one of the things I love most about our dates, we can go anywhere.  Browse Barnes & Noble, have coffee or lunch and solve the world’s problems, have an entire conversation, reconnecting after the long week.  It’s the simple things I love the most.

One thought on “Finally, a simple day…

  1. I envy you! I’m ready for a few simple days, just to be alone and get some things done for me without having to worry about feeding emma every two hours (yesss, still BF’ing only!) — i know it’s the best for her, but it’s been 5+months and geeeeeeeeez, i’m ready for some alone/me time! haha

Leave a Reply

