An “Ordinary Day” Date

I felt it was a good idea to go to the grocery store yesterday with a little snack in my belly. Otherwise, I’m sure the M&M trail mix and Popchips would have ended up in my basket, a definite NO NO in this house. Because Mommy has food issues….my poor children. I hope to God that I am teaching them good eating habits and not dooming them to a life of healthy food rebellion.

My “snack” was in reality an early dinner because I was really hungry at the time and I also knew I would be gone for a while. Well past dinner time. A little 150 calorie snack was not going to keep me satisfied for the long haul.

photo 1

Dannon fat-free yogurt (I can’t find traditional anymore Thumbs down), 7 Blue Diamond natural almonds, 1/4 cup Honey Bunches of Oats, & 1 piece of cinnamon swirl protein bread.

When I got home from grocery shopping I was a little hungry so I toasted 1/2 a Thomas Whole Wheat Bagel Thin with 1 tbsp. Sunbutter. I also had a few handfuls of Great Grains Cereal in Banana Nut Crunch (just purchased from the store & I think may be my new favorite, just have to try to practice portion control) and ~ 10 peanuts.

photo 2

***************************

Today’s Breakfast

I was SUPER hungry this morning. Earlier than normal too.

photo 2 (2)

1/2 Thomas Whole Wheat Bagel Thin, 1 tbsp. Sunbutter, 1/2 large banana, sprinkle of cinnamon & Chobani 2% Strawberry Banana Greek Yogurt.

Thursday is our “Date Day”. We usually do something out of the ordinary but today we just enjoyed a normal day…..WITHOUT kids. Which is a “date” in itself. It was so nice to have a conversation with with no interruptions. A lot of time we just give up talking to each other because we can’t even finish a sentence. That’s why “Date Day” is so sacred to us! Next week is Aidan’s last week of school so we have just one more date left before the summer. Next year he will start Kindergarten which means we will have several opportunities to date. Looking way forward to that! Times they are a changin!

For our “date” today we went to the gym and I had yet ANOTHER fantastic workout. I really felt like I could have ran some more when I got home. I even suggested to Jeremy that we do Jillian (TWSS) but quickly dismissed that idea! I ran on the treadmill for 30 min, topping out at 6.0 mph again! (YAY!) and then did a version of my at-home upper body workout. I did the shoulder workout, 3 sets of 15 bicep curls w/ 8lb free weights then 3 sets of 25 bench dips.

Lunch

So yummy again!

photo 4 (2)

Apple, orange, leftover broccoli from yesterday, turkey and reduced fat Swiss cheese on a La Tortilla Factory Smart & Delicious Soft Wrap pressed in my Panini Maker.

photo 5 (2)

I love these, they are so yummy. They have mild sweet and nutty taste that really complimented the turkey cheese combination.

I am finding myself having a daily Spark instead of a weekly Spark. It is making all the difference in my energy levels through the afternoon. Today my Spark lady gave me a sample of the pink lemonade. It was ok, but the mandarin orange is my favorite of them all.

photo 3

Snacks

photo 3 (2)

Archer Farms mini blueberry bagel with 1/2 wedge of Laughing Cow Strawberries & Cream Cheese, Clif Kid Z Bar.

While we were picking up Aidan from school I found these gorgeous wild flowers!

photo 1 (2)

photo 4

;

photo 5

There is a beautiful white butterfly right in the middle.

It’s the simple things…..

Tonight we have Willy Wonka performance to attend at a certain elementary school! Willy Wonka is one of my favorite favorite movies. Old and new.

“Hello Starshine! The Earth says HELLOOOOO!”

Have a lovely evening my friends!

Leave a Reply

