Joshua

I am happy to say this day is over and a new one will begin tomorrow.  I am proud to say I made it through with grace and no binge eating peanut M&M’s or Honey Bunches of Oats. Thumbs up

It started out really great.  I got up bright and early with no problems.  I got myself ready for church & had breakfast.

photo 1 (2)

photo 2 (2)

  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 scoops EAS Lean 15 Protein powder in Vanilla Crème
  • 1 cup Dole frozen Strawberries & Bananas
  • 1 tablespoon chia seed.

What a yummy smoothie!  I prefer mixed berries but I am out Thumbs down.  It was super thick for some reason so I added 1/2 cup more almond milk.

Then……..the boys got up.  You know, sometimes they are just sweet as sweet can be.  But then other times, well, they just aren’t.  This morning was one of those times.  We made it out the door with just barely enough time to get to church for the early service.  Since I wasn’t scheduled to volunteer in the nursery this morning, my plan was to stop in to see if they needed any help (of course they would) for either the first or the last service.  That plan was about to get the ax.

We all got in the car and then I saw the gas light.  I had forgotten that I needed to get gas.  I thought I would be getting out of the house again on Saturday afternoon but we never did so therefore I completely forgot.  Already late, I knew I had to stop for at least a little.  The last thing I needed was to be stranded on the side of the freeway.  As I was pulling into the gas station my children start screaming….”SPIDER!!!!  SPIDER!”  I never saw the spider, but for those bug hunting, bug killing boys to have been screaming like that, it must have been some spider.

I got out of the car, in heels, with the wind blowing my dress and hair every which way.  I am not sure I have ever mentioned how much I HATE to pump gas.  I hate it.  I hate touching the nozzle, I hate touching the pin pad, it gives me anxiety because I feel like someone is going to come up to me, I hate the way it smells.  I just hate it.  I did all the necessary steps, then took the nozzle off the pump and gas starts spewing out all over the concrete, all over my shoes, my dress.  I am just standing there, holding it as far away from myself as possible, completely paralyzed as to what to do.  After what seemed an eternity, it finally stopped.  I glanced up at the price screen thing and it had spewed out $1.68 worth of gas!  BLERGH……. I realized that this was a little battle, but I was going to win.  I took some deep breaths, said some prayers and calmly drove back home.  I would go home, change my clothes, wash my legs.  I would do the dishes, sweep the floor, and then I would leave a few minutes early for my class that started at 10am.  I.Was.GOING.To.Church.

Outfit #2

photo 3 (2)

Dress: Macy’s  (I bought this dress in 2009 for a wedding.  It was the only one I felt remotely comfortable in out of the 40 dresses I tried on for this wedding.)

Shoes: Ross

Bracelets:  Coach and a gift from a friend.

Watch:Fossil

I also had on silver hoops.

Would ya’ll like a little before and after?

DSC05314photo 3 (2)

October 2009                                      April 2012

Well, I made it to church, on time for class.  I had extra time to spare in between the class and the service.  I had some coffee and talked with some of the ladies that were in the class with me.  I felt complete peace.

While I was waiting for service to start I glanced at the handout they give us.  It said today’s message was over Joshua 1.  So I opened up to that scripture.

photo 3

Over the years this has been highlighted and re-highlighted, underlined and circled.  I don’t have the words to say how overwhelmed with love and peace I was in that moment.

It’s no secret that life is hard.  My life is hard, your life is hard.  But we aren’t alone in the battle.  The battle over the big stuff. The battle over the little annoying things like gas spewing all over your pretty shoes and kids screaming in the back seat because there is prehistoric spider back there.  The little stuff like boys fighting over who’s Lego part is who’s and purposefully seeking out to drive their loving and devoted mother to the psych hospital or to “See the Wizard” as it’s lovingly referred to in some lines of work.  Winking smile

I felt 100% refreshed after service and drove straight home.  Not stopping for donuts this week because,  A) we all know what that leads to….and B) because my children were acting like heathens and deserved no such treat.  They were even going to have to spend an hour in their rooms after church this afternoon, but I felt compelled to extend a touch of grace to them so I took back that punishment.  I had a banana and a Clif Kid Z-Bar in my bag and ate those on the way home.

Then when I got home I made lunch for the boys and myself.  I munched on some of their Goldfish Crackers while my soup was heating on the stove.

photo 4

photo 5

Wolfgang Puck Chicken Noodle Soup.

It was super yummy, a great healthy comfort food and most importantly not a box of Honey Bunches of Oats.

I had some protein bread with a tablespoon of PB also.

My kids did this for a while.

photo 1 (3)

I did various things around the house and also napped (I had been up since 5am people!)  for about an hour.

Later we went out to get some drinks and I got this too.

photo 2

Sometimes you just need a little sweetness in your life to make it through the day.  I am proud of myself for not getting the king sized bag of M&M’s that were staring me down.  No, I got the 150 calorie treat.  YAY ME!

I wasn’t hungry for dinner but this is what I made.

Garlic Chicken with Rice

photo 3 (3)

The boys LOVED it!  I tasted it and thought it was pretty good.  It was super easy, quick, and inexpensive. I did all the prep for it Saturday night and put it together when I got home from church.  I was going to have it ready for lunch but the chicken wasn’t thawed enough this morning.  I used 4 boneless chicken breasts instead of the bone-in chicken it calls for.  If I’d known they would love it so much,  I would have used more chicken. For leftovers I should have used 6-7 breasts.  There is a lot of rice left over so I can use that for another meal.

I am off to end this day right.  Hopefully I can get more than a few pages read in Catching Fire before my eyes seal shut.

2 thoughts on “Joshua

Leave a Reply

