Finding Rhythm

As a new blogger I am trying different things (for lack of better terms) to “find my mojo” in the blogging world.  One is to find my rhythm.  I have said before that while I LOVE to share about fitness and nutrition, about my boys and life in general…it takes time and commitment.  Time away from my responsibilities, my other loves like my sweet boys, reading, quiet time, baking, cooking, working out.  Lately things seem to be a tad out of balance again.  I have spent the past two days catching up on things that have fallen by the wayside.…..So, in trying to find a new rhythm I am going to try posting in the afternoons instead of the mornings.  Mornings are …….chaotic.  Afternoons are……well less chaotic….for a few hours anyway.  So hopefully posting in the afternoons/evenings will work out better.  If not, I’ll try something else!

This evening,  I would like to catch up for yesterday and today and then hopefully by tomorrow I can start posting a little differently.

Yesterday

Breakfast

photo 1

Coffee, Oats

Workout

Not gonna lie here, it totally sucked.  I did 15 on the treadmill, trying desperately to get my heart rate up.  Even did some crazy intervals….no go.  Thumbs down  So I switched to the elliptical.  I was able to get a good burn on there but by that time I was just grumpy britches so I ended it at 15 mins.  I went over to the weights and had a much better time over there.

2 sets of 10 push-ups on toes

1 set of 10 push-ups in knees

2 sets of 25 bench dips

The shoulder part of my upper body workout

3 sets of 15 bicep curls w/ 8lb weights

Then I did my ab challenge and a stretch out.

Over all,  I think it was a good workout, but it didn’t FEEL like one.  I think I need to officially break up with my heart rate monitor.  We took a break a while ago but I think it needs to be official this time.  It’s ruining my workout mojo.  It was great while it lasted.  It REALLY helped me get over some humps and I would recommend the use of one to everyone,  but for me…..it’s time to go.  I really wanted that pink one too.  I’ll have to splurge on another fitness accessory instead….

Lunch

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

I made Hungry Girl’s White Pizza with Flatout flatbread.  It was SUPER yummy.  The only thing I didn’t like was that the bread didn’t get very crispy.   I could have rolled it up into a wrap, which would have been yummy as well, but not what I was going for.  I should have baked the bread for a while first to make it a little more crispy.

I had several snacks through the day.  An apple, orange, some protein bread, I think a of couple granola bars…..Snacky Day for sure.

Aidan and I planted some flowers and collected bugs…..*shiver*

photo 2 (2)

photo 5

photo 3 (2)

photo 4 (2)

It’s a start!  Hopefully the Texas sun won’t annihilate them.

Dinner was leftover baked ziti.

photo 5 (2)

It was much better the second day!  Casseroles always are!

Today

Breakfast

photo 1 (3)

I made my oats pretty much the same, just less of them.

1/4 cup old fashioned oats

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

2 tsp. Jif natural peanut butter

1 tbsp. chia seed

sprinkle of cinnamon.

SO YUM!

Workout

BOB

It was hard, it was intense and once again my first thought was…

Anchorman

Today, I tried a few of the supplements I got over the weekend.

First was this

photo 2 (3)

The name of it made me laugh.

sexy beast

Beast Mode by Beast Sports Nutrition was good!  I liked it a lot.  I don’t think it gave me that edge they speak of during the workout, Bob was hard as ever (TWSS).  I was feeling a little sluggish before I drank it. Then I had a big burst of energy and my mind was much more alert about 30 min after drinking it.  The flavor was yummy and fruity!  The only thing that was weird and I will have to find out why this was but, I had this pins and needles feeling in my face, hands and legs for a few hours.  Not pleasant.

After my workout I drank this

photo 3 (3)

Vega Sport Recovery Accelerator

I was nervous since the last time I tried a Vega product, I was sadly disappointed.  But this was pretty good!  It was a bit grainy and earthy tasting but I poured it over ice and that made it better.  It reminded me of a V-8.  After today’s workout I was toast.  I drank this immediately after and it made me feel incredible!  I mopped the floors as well as vacuum plus a lot of other cleaning type stuff.  I did some mental tasks like ordering birth certificates,  finding coupons and recipes.  I haven’t felt the least bit tired physically or mentally today.  Both products seemed to have an appetite suppressing effect too.

I didn’t get hungry until around 1:30 so I grabbed a quick snack I could eat on the way to get Aidan from school.

Lunch Part I

photo 4 (3)

Banana and 1 serving of Blue Diamond Whole Natural Almonds

That seemed to kick start my appetite and I was hungry for “lunch” around 2:30 when we got back.

Lunch Part 2

photo 1 (4)

photo 2 (4)

Turkey and Provolone Panini on a Thomas Whole Wheat Bagel Thin.

photo 2 (5)

Jamie’s bread + 1 tsp. PB.

Since I ate lunch pretty late I wasn’t very hungry for a big dinner.  I’d love to be able to eat most of my calories during the day then have a light dinner.  A new goal to work on I guess!

Dinner

photo 1 (5)

Dannon Greek Yogurt with 1 serving of protein bread on top.

I am alarmed by the lack of vegetables in my diet the past several days.  I definitely need to work on that!


Here are some interesting internet finds!

Take a Rest Day, or 2 – Greatist

Lose weight without losing your social life – Fitness Magazine.

I better go before my children burn the house down!

…..but one last thing….I found this while cleaning my sweet Luke’s room this afternoon.

photo 5 (3)

We got him a little journal as one of his baptism gifts and this is what he is writing in it.   Not comics, or stories about beyblades or pokemons…..He is such a little thinker.  It’s hard to tell what’s going on in his mind most of the time as he is very introverted.  But times like this I am reminded that beneath that seemingly tough exterior is a soft vulnerable heart.  Precious boy.  God bless & keep Luke.

2 thoughts on “Finding Rhythm

Leave a Reply

