A Day to Remember

April 18th 2012 will be a day my little family will always remember.  It was a glorious and beautiful Spring day.

photo 2 (2)

photo 3 (2)

photo 5

I got my 5 mile run in and stopped to smell the roses bluebonnets along the way.  Then I did the Tone it Up Girls Lean Arms Pyramid and a long stretching session.

Tone It Up

My breakfast, snack and lunch were the exact same as Tuesday.  I’ll spare the documentation….ya seen one bowl of oatmeal, apple, orange, protein bar, and smoothie, ya seen ‘em all!

I received two coupons for a free Zone Perfect Bar in the mail so I picked them up while grocery shopping yesterday.  My smoothie kept me satiated for quite a while but I was getting hungry again.   I knew I wasn’t going to be able to eat dinner until well after 7:30 maybe even 8pm.  This little bar was perfect.  I ate it on the way home from the store, around 4:45, and I was surprised that it held me over all the way until I was able to eat dinner.  It was really tasty.  It really tasted like a candy bar to me, except not addictively sweet and hyper-palatable.  The Zone Diet works by having you eat a balance of carbs-fat-protein so that you decrease cellular inflammation, which it says is why we are fat.  It claims that by eating this “perfect” equation you will not get hungry for hours.   While I don’t endorse the diet by any means, I do endorse these little bars!  Yummmmm.  The bars claim to have the perfect carbs-fat-protein ratio making it the perfect “Zone” mini-meal.   It WAS the perfect mini-meal!    It kept my hunger at bay for several hours.  This would not be the case if I had chosen a Larabar or a Luna Bar.  I would have been ravenous within two hours.  photo 1 (3)

Zone Perfect Chocolate Caramel Cluster

We were off to church pretty much as soon as I got home and got the groceries put away.  It was a big night.

There are moments in my life that I will remember forever. I will always have a vivid image of those moments. The moment I felt the warmth of my first son born after he was delivered.  The first moment I laid eyes on the 19 year old kid I’d spend the rest of my life with, hanging up cell phone accessories in Circuit City.  The moment in the Bellagio Chapel when he promised me he would never leave me, for better or for worse. The hard moments. The moment Jeremy sat at the edge of our bed and told me his brother had been killed.  The moment I watched my 2 week old baby boy being wheeled through the double doors of the hospital for surgery.

And this moment

photo 2 (3)

On April 18th 2012 my son Luke accepted Jesus into his heart and was baptized in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

The story on how this came to be can only be described as a total God thing.  There are times in our lives when we just rely on pure faith that the Lord is working for our good.  You don’t always feel it, it’s not always tangible, it’s not always this ooey gooey feeling of peace and love and joy.  Most of the time it’s like “Um, hello???? God, are you even there?  Can’t you see I need a little help?”  But then…..there are moments when He reveals Himself in such a magnificent way, you can’t believe you ever doubted his presence.  Times when He works in your life specifically to strengthen your faith.

He knows my name

via

photo 5 (2)photo 1

Times you are reminded that He is sovereign.


We stopped by our favorite, Chick-Fil-A, for dinner and I got something I have never tried before.

The Chargrilled & Fruit Salad

photo 2

This was SO yummy!  I am pretty sure this will be my new usual.  I used the Berry Vinaigrette, and it was good, but next time I will get the fat free honey mustard I normally have.

photo 3

I ate all the yummy stuff off and left the nutritious stuff like a 5 yr. old. What? I was full!


Today is DATE DAY!   I We have a few things planned.  Starbucks. The Container Store, for those items I can’t stop thinking about.  Lifeway & B&N for a baptism gift for Luke.  Lunch, not sure where & of course, Pinkberry.  Maybe I will be able to dragggggggg Jeremy into Ulta for some Mother’s Day help and to pick up a free gift with the coupon they sent me because I spent too much money a certain dollar amount in there over the last few months.

“There is no such thing as natural beauty” – Truvy

Steel Magnolias

Betcha couldn’t have guessed this is my favorite movie of ALL TIME.  I have watched it hundreds if not thousands of times (<—— Blatant lie) and will never ever tire of it.  It’s the only movie I can quote word for word and also use the dialogue from pretty much daily……However, I either turn it off or fast forward right before Shelby collapses on the back porch.  I just can’t take it.  I will sob every.single.time.

Questions of the day:

What moments (good or bad) are ingrained in your life?

What movie can you quote line for line?

6 thoughts on “A Day to Remember

  1. This made me so happy to see that Luke got baptized!!!!!!! Glory to God!!!!

    I will be calling you tomorrow….. I feel like I haven’t talked to you in FOREVER….(forever really just means since last week 🙂 )

    Chargrilled and fruit salad = yummmmmmmmmmmmmy! That’s what I always get.

    To answer your questions: I have a ton of moments ingrained in my head…….good and bad………..I have memories as early as 5-6 years old………. like when my aunt took me to get my LONG blond hair chopped off to an almost pixie style hair cut to match hers…..bc she was jealous of my hair….when I was in kindergarten! to memories of walking down the aisle to say I do to my wonderful, amazing husband eventhough it hasn’t always been romance and flowers and all that mushiness……. he’s perfect for me……….

    Girlfriend ~ I, too, can quote Steel Magnolia’s:) Pink is my signature color. (said in my best southern Shelby voice) I have a ton of movies that I can quote verbatim…. like Dirty Dancing, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, The Goonies, Pretty In Pink, Back to the Future, Mean Girls….. ~ Gosh there’s so many more….and I’m showing my age….for the reals!!!!!!!

    Ok, well, have a great date day:) I. WILL. TALK. TO. YOU. TOMORROW. ❤ you friend.

    • I just read your comment AFTER I called you earlier! 🙂 I know I haven’t talked to you in months, ok three days….haha! I thought about you last night when I was ordering at Chick-Fil-A. I knew exactly what I was going to get after you told me about that salad. You were right about it! My new favorite. I hesitantly looked up the calorie count AFTER I ate it and was pleasantly surprised the calorie count was not half a days worth! Just because it says “Fruit” and “Salad” does not mean its healthy!

      I can’t image getting my hair completely chopped off! How traumatic! My bad hair memory is my mom taking me to get bangs….I think I wanted them but, I had/have this horrible cowlick that was completely out of control. Over time I have learned to work with it and just accept it for what it is (no side swept look for me) but in the 4th grade….Dear Lord was I awkward! I had the most beautiful looooong all one length light brown hair. If I was my mother I would have say “Oh HECK no girlfriend you have been blessed with a cowlick, no bangs ever, trust me.” It was a sad day for sure.

      ~ “Pink is my signature color” – my favorite.

  2. Moments that are ingrained:
    *The first time I saw my first child (through a Polaroid picture) and then when I saw him in person 2 days later.
    *The first cry from my second child
    *The moment it was confirmed that I was going to have a baby
    *My first date with Jeff and how wonderful he smelled
    * My first broken heart
    *The way my mom always smells like Gardenia

    Movies I quote:
    The Fifth Element
    All Harry Potter movies
    Practical Magic
    Sneakers

    • I love those moments! Those are huge. I also can remember both times I found out I was pregnant, my first “date” with Jeremy….it wasn’t really a date but the first time we hung out just us. I have had too many broken hearts to remember! Ha! I remember my first kiss like it was yesterday though! I think God blessed me with the gift of being able to have blocked out the bad stuff from my adolescence 🙂

  3. I too LOVE Steel Magnolias (and Pretty Woman- two of my favs) and I quote them all the time. Haha. Congratulations Luke- we are so happy and proud of you.

    Oh, and I tried your homemade Lara bars and granola- YUM!! I mix the granola with my yogurt- so good!!

Leave a Reply

