Running Mojo is Back

I was feeling 110% better yesterday thank goodness!  I got up easily and didn’t really get tired until later in the afternoon around 5 which is saying something since come 2pm I am usually worthless….

cute dogvia

My day started out normal, coffee, oatmeal, did some chores, got the boys ready for school.  All with minimal drama and trauma!  I may or may not have threatened to confiscate their favorite toys if I heard another argument.  What?  Girl’s gotta survive!

After I dropped Aidan off,  I went straight to the gym.  I was in the mood for a long run on the treadmill.  I have had a lot on my mind lately and the rhythm of running just always seems to help me sort things out. The gym was empty and my favorite treadmill was available!   I am pleasantly surprised that these great runs are becoming more and more frequent.  I think the treadmill and I may be becoming friends again.  For a while I couldn’t even spend 5 minutes on it without wanting to stick a fork in my eye.  It was probably due to the seasonal overcrowding.

(via)January Joiners Just sayin….

This is a good thing because soon it will be so hot, I won’t have the option of running outside unless I plan on running before the sun comes up.

The workout looked like this:

Min        Speed

0-5        4.3 walk

5-10      5.4

10-15    5.6

15-20    5.8

20-25    6.0

25-30    4.3 walk

30-35    5.6

35-40    5.8

40-45    4.3 walk

45-50    5.2

50-55    5.4

55-60    4.3  cool down slowing every one minute.

By the end I had completed 5.02 miles!  Holla!  I’m so slow.

lapping

via

I felt so incredible when I was finished.  I stretched out for a while and then couldn’t get home fast enough to eat some lunch.

Lunch was…….interesting.  We were out of everything so I had to get creative.  I was out of apples and nuts, my usual appetizer, so I ate a Larabar, undocumented because it was gone in about 2.5 seconds.

photo 1

The last of the roasted sweet potatoes (not even a cup), 1 cup mixed berries, deviled egg and chicken salad on half (only had half left) of an Orowheat Sandwich Thin.

I made the chicken salad with canned chicken, 1 boiled egg white, 1 tbsp. relish, 1 tbsp. Miracle Whip Light, mustard, salt and pepper.

…and yes, it was a gross as it looks.

I mentioned the last time I tried this canned chicken I did not like it at all.  I thought it just needed to be cold.  Even though this was a little better, I’m still not a fan.  I ended up using a few spoonful’s and dumping the rest down the garbage disposal.

photo 2

I put sweet potatoes on top and that made it more palatable.  Strange combination but it worked!

I never never recommend eating something you don’t love.  If it’s not good, don’t eat it.  I really didn’t have many options yesterday, so that is why I ate the nasty chicken salad.

When I had finished lunch I sat down to start the “Grocery Project”.  I was able make a menu and a grocery list in just a few hours!  You can do wondrous things when you are completely focused and uninterrupted.  I read somewhere that it takes a full 15 minutes to refocus on a task after being interrupted.  I can say that is some truth!

I was hungry, really hungry, just a few hours later so I ate a Kashi Bar (not pictured) and 1/4 cup of Archer Farms Berry Blend low-fat granola.  photo 3

After picking up little A, we picked up some cat food from Petco and then went grocery shopping.  Aidan fell asleep with his head resting on his arms over the handle of the basket.  Why didn’t I take a picture?  His little nap made for a very pleasant trip.

By the time the grocery shopping was done…..2 hrs later…..I was hungry…..again.  BLERG.  On the way home, I ate one of the Blueberry Muffin Larabars that I had just bought.  After putting all the groceries away I sat down for a formal snack.

photo 4

Dannon Greek Yogurt in Vanilla with 1/4 cup of the granola cereal.

I also drank 20 oz of water.

Finally…..I wasn’t hungry anymore, at least for a few hours!

Dinner

photo(12)

Morningstar Black Bean Burger, Alexia Waffle Cut Sweet Potato Fries, and frozen peas.

Yum, yum, yum!

After dinner I had Tootsie Roll and 2 jelly beans.  I really tried not to have them since I am trying to “detox” from my sugar binge over the weekend, but I REALLY wanted that Tootsie Roll.  I blame it on Mrs. Murphy.  The good news is that I didn’t want anything more. I was satisfied with just a little taste instead of it setting me off and feeling like I wanted to devour the entire bag of jelly beans like a mad woman…..Maybe the “detoxes” are beginning to take less time.  Normally I have to give it at least a week before I stop craving massive amounts of sweets after every meal.

I was exhausted really tired by the end of the day, so I got the kitchen cleaned up and pretty much went straight to bed.  Jeremy got home and took care of the rest of the evening’s duties and I was crashed out by 9pm!  HALLELUJIA!

I am hoping to have another great run today & get some errands ran.  There may be also be a mani-pedi in my immediate future.  One can dream!

Leave a Reply

