Would you like a Tornado with that?

Yesterday was scary.  Like, hiding in a bathroom scary.  More on that later.

It was Pajama Day at Pre-School

photo 1

He is just too much!

I didn’t have time to eat breakfast before I took Aidan to school so I ate when I got back.  Surprisingly, I was not craving oatmeal!

photo 3photo 4

I started to scramble up two egg whites. The yolk of one fell into the bowl so I scrambled up 1 egg white and 1 whole egg.  I put half the eggs on an Orowheat Sandwich Thin along with 1 slice of reduced-fat Colby Jack Cheese and 1 Morningstar Sausage Patty.  Then, I grilled it in my Panini maker.  On the side, I had the other sausage patty and the rest of the eggs.  This was SO delicious.  I am such a huge fan of bigger breakfasts.  I ate this a little later in the morning, around 9:30, and it really helped my hunger levels the rest of the day.

Even though I got superb nights sleep, and had 3 cups of coffee (not because I was tired but because I just love it), I found myself completely exhausted by 10am (probably a caffeine crash). I had gotten up as usual, had a great morning and then out of no where my energy plummeted.

After breakfast, I got the house picked up from the morning rush and laid down on the couch in complete bliss as I relished the absolute quiet of the house.  I thought, “Ahhhhh, I can sleep as long as I want.”  I reflected on a time not so long ago when I hadn’t slept in days/weeks.  I would find myself sitting or standing there rocking my crying baby, as I, myself was also crying.  Him for whatever reason, me from utter exhaustion.  When I say I am exhausted now, I really shouldn’t use that term.  Ever.  I am just a little tired.  Back in Aidan’s infant days I would day dream about a day that I could sleep anytime I needed to.  I was in bliss yesterday as I had realized that day had come.

Even though I could have slept for hours, I didn’t.  I didn’t want to sleep my special day away.  I took a 20 min power nap to take the edge off and then got up to deal with Bob.  I regret saying I was going to show him who was boss because he was the one owning me yesterday.  I went into it with complete confidence because I did so much better last week.  Yesterday,  I was dying.  I managed to finish it the best I could.  I can say I didn’t phone it in at any point, but it was brutal.  I couldn’t even finish the last squat jumps.  I just stood there, hands on my hips, slouched in defeat saying out loud “You’re killing me.”

So all the while I am doing this workout, the tornado sirens are going off and my phone is blowing up.  I am trying to concentrate on not dying and am being distracted by why in the world the sirens would be going off as well as my phone.  While I am doing lunge #32094, it’s getting darker and darker.  I notice the wind is picking up.  I quickly go over to my phone and Jeremy had sent me about 4 texts saying,  “Um HELLO?!?!  There is a tornado in  -“my city”- and you aren’t answering.  Please tell me you are ok.”  I quickly replied,  “Yes” and I got back to my lunges.  #DEDICATED.  Honestly I only had a little bit left.  When I was done, I had about 20 minutes before I had to leave to get Aidan from school.  I turned on the T.V. to see what all the hub-bub was about and well, well, well, what d’ya know….TORNADOS all around me!!!!  Let the freak out commence.  I start thinking a million things. “Do I go pick up Aidan?  What about Luke?  Should I leave? Should I call the schools?”  I put my big girl panties on and left.

I was pretty much starving at that point but didn’t have time to really make anything, so I grabbed my trusty Kashi bar

photo 5

I’m not going to lie….I was terrified.  I had worn my heart rate monitor out of curiosity as to exactly how hard the workout was & I hadn’t taken it off before I left.  I looked down to check the time & it was reading my heart rate as 109!  This was 20 min later, in the car….When I got to the school, everyone was in the bathroom!  It was so sad.  I felt so sorry for the teachers and the kids.  They were all confused. Confused smile  I asked Aidan why he was hiding in the bathroom and he said “I don’t know?”  His teacher said, “We didn’t go into any details.”  When we left the sirens were still going off and the radio was talking all about these tornados.  At one point, they were reporting one close to where we were driving but it was far enough away that I couldn’t see anything.  Meanwhile, little A is asking me all these questions I don’t have the answers to.  “Mommy, why are you driving so fast? Mommy, why is it so dark? Mommy, is a tornado going to come get us? Mommy where’s Luke & Daddy? Are they safe? What if a tornado gets our house and rips off our roof, where are we going to live?”  All I kept saying was “We are going to be ok, we just need to get home, quickly.”  I don’t know who I was trying to convince of that.  As we were driving back home the sky was turning dark gray, lightening and thunder everywhere. Just as we were pulling into our garage it started to pour down rain and hail.  I immediately went into the bathroom and hid for about 20 min.  Then I had the bright idea of watching the news.  Thankfully the really bad stuff was to the northwest of us.  I couldn’t call out so I had no idea what was going on at Luke’s school, but after an hour Jeremy was finally able to find out that we were in the clear and the school would be releasing the students at regular time.  Whew…..scary stuff!

During the excitement I had a snack.  I was too freaked out and I also didn’t want to make a commitment to a meal if my roof was about to blow off.

photo 1 (2)

Apple & 1 serving of almonds.

A few hours later after everything settled down I had this

photo 3 (2)

Strawberry and Banana Protein Smoothie

1 cup Dole Frozen Fruit – Strawberry Banana Blend

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 tbsp. chia seed

1 scoop vanilla whey protein

~ This made a REALLY good smoothie.  One of the best I’ve made. ~

&

photo 4 (2)

1/2 an Orowheat Sandwich Thin w/ 1 tsp. JIF natural peanut butter.

My eating schedule was way off so I ended up having the smoothie and the sandwich thin around 4:30 and that kept me full for the rest of the evening.

I spent the evening getting our schedules organized for April,

photo(8)

looking for Easter recipes, and shoes……Winking smile.  I was thankful to have some Black Bean Burritos stored away in the freezer so the boys had that for dinner.  After baths and stories we ALL got into bed at a decent hour.  I don’t know about them but I was exhausted very tired.


GoodDay

via

3 thoughts on “Would you like a Tornado with that?

  1. You’re so funny friend! I’m with the weight run down girl…..true dedication! lol! Glad that you guys are all safe though:) love you friend.

  2. Thanks so much for commenting on my blog so I could come visit yours! Love it. I can tell we have a lot in common. I too probably would have lunged through tornado warnings but then flipped when I knew what was going on. 😉

    Thank God for your kids’ safety and yours! What a scary thing. Hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

