Spring Fever?

I am not exactly sure what got into me yesterday.  I don’t think it was Spring Fever because that’s when all you want to do is get outside and play.  Maybe it was my own version of Spring Fever since I am a little different than most women in the fact that I REALLY love to clean.  Not so much in an OCD way, ok, maybe a little, but in a way that I just like things clean and tidy.  Never mind that I can’t leave the house if it’s a mess, that’s normal right?

Messes Mom

I could not get my house clean enough.  For some reason EVERYTHING was filthy!  I cleaned both bathrooms, swept & mopped all the floors, did laundry, & cleaned the boys rooms.  Even though I really wanted to reorganized my cabinets, I finally had to make myself stop around 3:30 so I could call my sweet friend and socialize for a while.  While we were on the phone we talked about all the things we need to clean in hour houses. Confused smile  I think the two of us were separated at birth.

Breakfast

photo 1 (2)

1/2 an Orowheat Sandwich Thin, 1/2 tbsp. of natural peanut butter, 1/2 of a small banana, & chia seeds. Small bowl of Cinnamon Honey Bunches of Oats w/ unsweetened almond milk.

I was sort of annoyed with breakfast yesterday.  I drank a bunch of water after I had my coffee which left me feeling pretty full, so I wasn’t hungry for breakfast like I usually am. Oats didn’t sound very good so I made this instead.  I was still hungry after the above so I had another bowl of cereal.  I still wasn’t satisfied but I had to go workout in about an hour so I had to just deal with it.  I was really hungry all day yesterday and I think this was why. Annoyed  Note to self:  Eat your oats in the morning, you’ll thank yourself later.

Workout

I wasn’t really feeling the gym yesterday for some reason.  But as soon as I got there, I got a renewed burst of energy.  Thankfully, it hasn’t been as crowded lately as it has been since January.  I can now find a parking spot as well as my choice of treadmills.  For the last 3 months I wasn’t able to find a parking spot and I have been forced to run on the very middle treadmill which makes me feel trapped and distracted.  Not to mention people have been inclined to come talk to me in the middle of sprints and Pitbull telling me to shake it.

I had no clue what I wanted to do for my workout.  I started out on the treadmill for 30 min.

Min           Speed

0-5           warm-up 4.3

5-10         5.2

10-15       5.4

15-20       5.6

20-25       5.8

25-30       4.3 cool down.

Then I did the elliptical for 25 min.

Min           Level

0-5          8

5-15       10

15-20     12

20-25      5 cool down

I thought I might go over and do some shoulders and abs but Crazy Little Man was taking up all the space again.  Annoyed I think I should talk to the staff about putting up a “funny” gym rules sign next to the basic one they have now.

Rule # 1

Don’t talk to anyone who is wearing headphones, sweating like a pig and running at a pace of more than 5.0 mph. 

Rule # 2

Stand with your arms extended out to your sides.  That’s how much space you are allowed to take up. 

I kid, but seriously dude!

I went home and did the Tone It Up workout again.

Tone It Up Arms

This time I was able to use 8lb free weights for both sets of bicep curls. Thumbs up

While I was prepping lunch I ate some fruit.

Apple and some Cuties

photo 1

Rolling on the floor laughing Hi Aidan!

Lunch

photo 2 (2)photo 3 (2)

photo 4 (2)

Canned chicken, 2 tsp. Miracle Whip Light, grapes (halved), chopped almonds, & 1 tsp. relish.

1/2 cup Roland Quinoa

photo 5 (2)

Lunch was disappointing too.  I was a vegetarian for two years and I am still super picky about the meat I eat.  The only meat I like to eat right now is turkey or fish but I venture out  with chicken every now and then.  I am not sure what it was I didn’t like about this.  Maybe it needed to be cold, maybe I just don’t like chicken?  Either way, it wasn’t good.  The quinoa was yummy though.  After this I had some blueberry muffins and was over full.  Thumbs down It’s so important to eat what you like, otherwise you will just end up overeating trying to satisfy your appetite.  If what you really want is a cookie, don’t try to satisfy the craving with a bowl of grapes.  I promise it doesn’t work.  1 cup of grapes is 50 calories.  Find a cookie or a small chocolate treat worth the same amount and you will feel so much better.  Otherwise, you will eat 4 cups of grapes and then 2 Snickers bars.  Just eat the cookie!  What I really wanted for lunch was a peanut butter sandwich.  But in the spirit of balanced meals, I had the chicken and quinoa instead.  Then I ended up eating too many muffins trying to get that craving under control.  I should have just had the peanut butter sandwich.  Annoyed

Dinner

Now dinner…DINNER was outstanding!

photo 2photo 5

Southwest Black Bean Casserole from Pinch of Yum.

I used 1lb of ground chicken and I wasn’t sure what she meant by red peppers.  Red bell pepper? Red Chile Pepper?  So I used both.  This was OMG good.

photo 4

I baked some white corn tortillas in the oven at 425 degrees for ~ 8 min.

photo 3

…..served them with some salsa

This would have been really good with or without the chicken on top.  I would love to serve this on tortillas or over tortilla chips as nachos.  I am so happy we have leftovers for tonight!


Luke has his STAAR testing today.  Wish him luck!!!  Aidan has school and I am going to do Bob’s workout again.  Hopefully it won’t be quite as debilitating as it was last week!

You may also like

Common Diet Rules Debunked – Fitness Magazine

2 thoughts on “Spring Fever?

  1. I’ve figured out that I REALLY don’t like canned chicken, except when I use it to make homemade chicken noodle soup!
    If you want an easy way to make a lot of chicken and then have it for a few days in the fridge, I’ve started cooking it in a crockpot. I just put in a package of chicken breasts (usually about 2-3lbs when I get them on sale!) and pour some water (usually 2-3 cups, I dont want it totally swimming) in there and whatever seasonings you want. I poured in BBQ sauce a few days ago, but you use a lemon pepper marinade, or any of those flavors in the marinade section. Let it cook on high in the crockpot for 4-6hrs (depends if the chicken is frozen or not) and then BOOM, by dinner (or lunch if you start it really early) you have delicious, incredibly tender chicken. I shred it and make sandwiches but you could make it for tacos or anything really! Then you can eat on it for a couple of days 🙂 It’s WAY better than the canned stuff and a way better value for the $$$! 🙂

Leave a Reply

