Date Day <3

Thursday was our weekly Date Day!  The one day a week that Jeremy and I get to see each other for 5 hours straight uninterrupted.  A day where we can finish a sentence, even an entire conversation.  Sometimes we even make lofty plans for our future.  Its truly a sacred time!  This week’s date was so nice.  Even though we spent half of it doing “non-romantic” things, it was nice just being able to sit, talk, laugh and reconnect after a long week.

Before our date started I had breakfast

photo 1 (6)

Leftovers from Wednesday’s “Brinner”

Turkey Bacon, Jamie’s pancakes w/ 1 tsp. Peanut Butter & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams, 1 tsp. all-natural peanut butter, & too much chia seed.

I am not exactly sure how we ended up being Twinsies, but it happened.

photo 1 (7)photo 5 (3)

You can’t really tell, but my shirt is grey and white striped also.  Side note: The sleeves on this shirt are so annoying.  I really hate wearing it, but I think it’s cute so I wear it anyway.

Date Day Outfit

Tops ~ White Cami: Wal-Mart , Shirt: Target

Jeans ~ Aerie for American Eagle

Shoes ~ Target

Jewelry: Watch: Fossil, Bracelets: Coach & a gift from a friend (several years ago), silver hoop earrings & key necklace: gift from Jeremy last year.

Our first stop was Petco to take my doggie for her grooming appointment at 10am. Next was a stop at Starbucks of course, for my Misto.

photo 3 (5)

We then went to Service King to have my car repaired from the accident.  Waiting on Enterprise to get my rental set up took a good hour.  While I was kind of excited to get to drive a different car, I was also worried that I would like it more than my own and want a new one.  My car is like a trusted friend.  It’s been there through all the changes in my life the past 5 years.  I wonder if anyone else feels the same way about their car.  Is it weird that I have a strange emotional attachment to my vehicle?  Sure it has some bumps and bruises, but I love it.  The thing I love most about it is that its PAID FOR!  HOLLA!  One of the things we talked about while waiting is that while I don’t want a new car, I would like to give my old friend a face lift!  Several years ago the side trim piece came off.  We have intended to get it replaced, but with two kids and one income, it hasn’t exactly been on our priority list.  I am excited that Jeremy is having Service King replace it for us while they are fixing my bumper. Red heart

After all that we went to my happy place

target_logo(via)

I found a dress, a shirt and a favorite piece of “intimate wear” Embarrassed smile.

Jeremy found theseAnnoyed

WC M&M's(via)

I could strangle him.

photo 2 (4)

We finished the bag by the end of the night.  Oh yes, yes we did.Embarrassed smileWho me?

After a little while in Target, it was time for lunch so we went to one of my favorites

Corner-Bakery-Logo

Corner Bakery Café

I had my usual

photo 4 (5)

Spinach Sweet Crisp Salad & the Roasted Tomato Basil Soup Combo.

This meal was extra special because they forgot to put my sweet crisps on the salad so I got an extra one when they brought it out to me later!  I also was able to finish the entire thing.  Usually I am full after eating half the salad.  I bring everything else home to eat later.  I really need to attempt to make this at home because I could eat it every day.

After lunch it was time to go pick up little A and then run some more errands.  Home Depot to get paint for a project, Marshall’s and Ross to find some drink coasters. I didn’t find any coasters, but I did get a table runner, a wooden spoon, and some dish towels.  Isn’t that how it always happens?  You go in for one thing, you come out with 5 and none of it is what you went in for in the first place.  Confused smile

Trixie was finally ready to go home from her Spa Day

 photo 3 (3)

photo 3 (2)

I told them not to put bows on her ears, she hates them, but I must admit, they look pretty darn adorable!

I had planned on taking advantage of the beautiful Spring-like weather and going for a run but I was super hungry and it was a little late.  I also had a serious case of the I-don’t-want-to’s again, so I ate a snack.

photo 1 (4)

Sargento String Cheese, Cuties, Peanuts.

I left the house a mess that morning so I tidied up and then got dinner ready.

photo 1 (3)

Nutty Summer Squash with Asiago Cheese, Turkey Burger w/ Provolone & Spinach on an Orowheat whole wheat bun.

These veggies are amazing.

“These are yummy, you have to make this meal once a week. This is perfect” – Jeremy

I got the recipe from my South Beach Diet Cookbook but I was also able to find it on-line!

Nutty Summer Squash with Asiago Cheese (Phase 1)  (source)

Summer squash couldn’t be better! Chopped walnuts and Asiago, an Italian cheese with a nutty, rich flavor, add a surprise crunch to this delightful veggie dish.

2 teaspoons trans-free margarine
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1 medium zucchini, cut into 3″ strips
1 medium yellow summer squash, cut into 3″ spears
2 tablespoons chicken or vegetable broth
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/4 cup chopped walnuts, toasted
1/3 cup (1 1/2 ounces) shredded Asiago cheese

1. Melt the margarine in a large nonstick skillet over medium-low heat. Add the garlic and cook, stirring constantly, for 1 minute, or until soft.

2. Add the zucchini, yellow squash, broth, salt, and pepper. Bring to a simmer over medium heat. Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 6 minutes, or until the zucchini and squash are tender. Remove from the heat. Sprinkle with the walnuts and cheese.

Makes 4 Servings
Per Serving:120 calories, 9 g fat, 2.5 g saturated fat, 5 g protein, 5 g carbohydrate, 2 g dietary fiber, 10 mg cholesterol, 140 mg sodium

After dinner we collapsed on the couch, watched some DVR’d Big Bang Theory and polished off the rest of the M&M’s like any normal couple would!

Leave a Reply

