But what I really wanted to do was…..

Last night I got the best night’s sleep I have had in a very long time. I didn’t wake up a million times & I wasn’t woken up a million times. I still woke up cranky. Confused smile Even though I get up before the rooster crows, I am not a morning person. What I really wanted to do was go back to bed. But kids need food, and direction so I had to get up and get my two hour head start anyway. Thumbs down

I was running behind this morning for some reason and realized I only had about 10 min to make and eat breakfast before I had to start getting Aidan and myself ready to leave. So I made something different!!!

photo 1photo 2

I really wanted my oats, but they take time. Time to cook, time to cool, time to eat.

This was a great alternative.

Fruit and Yogurt Parfait

~ 1/2 cup Dannon All-Natural Low-fat vanilla yogurt

~ 1/2 cup fresh berries (grapes & strawberries here)

~ sprinkle of chia seeds

~ 1/4 cup homemade granola

~ 7 almonds

I quickly got the two of us ready. Him for school, me for the gym. I had planned on a 5 mile run outside around my neighborhood this morning, but I realized I still needed to go to the gym two more times this month for a contest I have entered. I had planned on going Monday and Wednesday, but we missed Monday, so I needed to make it up today. Thumbs down Running on the treadmill for an hour is like torture for me. What I really wanted to do was get a mani/pedi, haircut, coffee, & sit for hours in Barnes & Noble, catching up on the magazines I have yet to read. But a girls got to have priorities. I made myself a deal that I would do 30 minutes on the treadmill and 30 minutes on the elliptical. About 15 minutes into my run I had to pee. Really? I mean can this get anymore torturous? I did my best to ignore it and ended up having a really great run. I topped out at 6.0 mph, which is an all out sprint for these stubby legs! When I was done I went to the ladies room, talking my way out of the second part of my work-out. The thought of staying another 30 min in that stinky gym made me sad. Then I thought, I know! I will do a lap around my neighborhood to finish this up! Brilliant. So I left with the full intention of doing another round of cardio at home. Then I got hungry half way there. When I got home, what I really wanted to do was eat! But then I thought no, no, no….you must finish this. You will feel terrible of you don’t.

go_thumb(via)

So I did and it’s true what they say

regret(via)

During the last 1/2 mile, what I really wanted to do was walk. But I kept going, one step in front of the other. Sometimes that is all you can muster. Put one step in front of the other. Out of the kitchen, out the door. One step at a time.

Post work-out reward snack

photo 3

Apple and protein bread w/ 1 tbsp. all-natural peanut butter

I got showered up and then had lunch

Things get interesting around here when it gets close to grocery shopping time.

photo 5photo 4

Peanut Butter & Banana Panini w/ baby carrots and a small parfait.

Peanut Butter & Banana Panini

~ 2 slices Nature’s Own whole wheat bread

~ 1 tbsp. all-natural peanut butter

~ 1/2 of a small banana, sliced

sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice

Small Parfait

~ 1/4 cup Dannon All-Natural Low-fat vanilla yogurt

~ 1/4 cup strawberries

~ sprinkle of chia seeds

~ 2 tbsp. homemade granola

Move over turkey and provolone there is a new favorite sandwich in town!

After I picked up A from school, my energy level took a nose dive and what I really wanted to do was take a nap, but instead I had a….

Snack

photo(4)

Kashi TLC Chewy Granola Bar & I also had a Spark Energy Drink

I didn’t get anywhere near making a menu last night like I had planned, so that’s on the agenda this evening. Also dinner…

Dinner

photo 2 (2)

Turkey Burger w/ Provolone cheese on a Nature’s Own whole wheat bun, Alexia Sweet Potato Fries, Green Giant Steamers Broccoli, Cauliflower, Carrots & Cheese Sauce

Those Sweet Potato Fries are to die for!

Leave a Reply

