Oh Happy Day!

I found myself super tired yesterday evening around 5:30, all I wanted to do was to get in the bed.  I guess the adrenaline rush from the little fender-bender yesterday had worn off and I crashed.  No pun intended Winking smile.  I hadn’t planned anything for dinner. It was going to be a “cereal night” because we were out of everything and I desperately needed to go to the grocery store.  I couldn’t really pin point anything I wanted.  I had a handful of peanuts, a few bites of granola, and a of couple almonds before I went to my default choice of Honey Bunches of Oats.  Can’t go wrong with that!  A few hours later I had a Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Larabar.  Not a nutritiously stellar dinner, but I was satisfied and that’s all that matters.

I slept in about 30 minutes this morning. I couldn’t pull myself away from the warm man sleeping next to me.  But alas, his alarm went off and we both had to face the day Thumbs down.

I didn’t get my quiet time in this morning because Aidan got up with us and Jeremy and I were catching up from the week. Other than that, it was routine as usual.

Breakfast

photo 1

~ 1/4 cup old fashioned rolled oats

~ 1/2 cup Silk unsweetened almond milk
~ 1/2 tbsp. all natural peanut butter
~ 1 tsp. chia seeds~ 1/2 small banana
~ 1 packet Truvia

Microwave the oats and the almond milk for 1:30-2:00 min stirring often to prevent boiling over.  Stir in extras.

….same but different Winking smile

My workout this morning consisted of 30 minutes on the elliptical, which was pretty intense.  I was having a hard time getting my heart rate up so I kept having to increase the resistance.  After that, I intended to do the same lower body workout that I did last week, but my legs were really tired for some reason (5 mile run perhaps?). So I just did the exercises that would work the large muscle groups.

Post workout snack

photo 3

I ended up eating just the almonds and ate the banana after the grocery trip.

Right after the gym we went to the grocery store.  Aidan and I play a little game called “How Fast Can We Get Out Of Here?”.  Depending on the amount of things we need, I will set a time and the goal is…..you guessed it, to see how fast we can get out of there.  Today we made it out 5 minutes under our goal!  Holla!  I love a full pantry and refrigerator, but man do I hate grocery shopping.  I try to streamline it with a grocery list that I type up in word.  It has all the items listed in order to follow how the store is set up.  Also, I keep my coupons in order the same way.  OCD much?  Hey, it comes in handy sometimes.

We went home to drop off the groceries, then I had to go to Target for some other items.  While I was there I picked up my needed items and then browsed for a while.  Usually that spells trouble, but today I found the clearance section and got some awesome deals!

photo 4

I have a serious addiction to really like Larabars, a lot.  But they are very pricey.  Between $1.20 and $1.50 per bar. I get them only when they are on sale. One of these packages was $5.60 and the other was $4. I am set for a week several weeks! Thumbs up The Annie’s Mac-n-Cheese was on sale for $3.60.  I love when I find good-for-you foods on sale.  Oh Happy Day!

When I got home from Target I was a little hungry so I had the other half of the banana, but really didn’t feel like anything else.  I showered, talked to a friend, and THEN 3 hours later…..I was finally hungry.

photo 1 (2)photo 3 (2)

Tuna fish salad on an Orowheat Sandwich Thin, baby carrots, grapes and strawberries.

Mandi’s Tuna Salad: makes 2 servings

~ Canned Tuna
~ 1 tbsp. Light Miracle Whip
~ squeeze of mustard
~ 1 tbsp. relish
~ salt and pepper to taste

This intuitive eating thing is taking time to get used to.

Right now this is what’s going on.

photo(1)

Luke and Daddy are in a serious match. Aidan is thinks he is involved too.

Hopefully the last part of my day will be as lovely as the first part.

3 thoughts on “Oh Happy Day!

  1. Pingback: Next time, check the weather report genius. | Simply Southern

  2. ever think of posting a shopping list for us people with 4 children fighting in the middle of the store while mommy attempts to grocery shop…I feel like the mom everyone stares at like “OH MY GOD LOOK AT THOSE KIDS AND UH SHE DOES NOTHING ABOUT IT” stares. These kids are wonderful but they are gonna kill me!

    • Hahaha! In that case I would leave everyone at home and take a grocery shopping vacation! I refuse to go to the grocery store with both boys, I try to go by myself but most of the time I have at least the little one with me. I keep him entertained by some sort of gaming device!

Leave a Reply

