Back with a Vengeance

I shot up out of bed this morning before my alarm went off at 5 with the thought “OH NO Jeremy’s uniforms!” Apparently he had the same thought at the same time because we met each other in the laundry room.  I had forgotten to transfer them to the dryer before I went to bed last night.  That’s always a fun way to wake up!

Now that I was wide awake, I had my morning coffee and quiet time, then did the rest of my routine as usual.

Had my oats

photo 4

I made them slightly different this morning, with unsweetened almond milk instead of coconut.  I much prefer coconut because its sweeter, but sadly, I have run out.  I also put a 1 tbsp of peanut butter instead of a 1/2 tbsp.

Luke was still with his dad for the holiday and won’t return until tomorrow afternoon so the morning was very quiet and relaxing.  Aidan even slept until sometime after 8 which is rare since he is usually up at the slightest hint of light.

I went to the gym this morning feeling GREAT.  Probably because I didn’t binge eat eat a bunch of naughty foods yesterday!  I jogged on the treadmill for 30 min.  I felt a bit heavy the first 10-12 min but after that I started to warm-up.  I felt like I could have done another 30 minutes when I finished.  Too bad it wasn’t cardio day.  My strength training was focused on biceps and triceps with some push-ups in the end.  I had done Bob’s triceps challenge ( made it to 75) right before push-ups, so I was only able to do 10 boy push-ups today Thumbs down but I finished up with 20 more on my knees.  Over all it was a great workout.  I felt like I could have done another 15 minutes on the treadmill but Aidan hates when I leave him in the kid zone for too long.  Eye rolling smile I am really looking forward to the weather we are supposed to have this week.  I am hoping to get some pavement runs in and soak up some vitamin D!

Post work-out snack

photo

Apple & chocolate protein bars

I finished up some of the housework I didn’t get to yesterday then I was hungry for lunch.

photo 3 (2)photo 1photo 1 (2)photo 3 (3)

Leftover enchiladas from last last night’s dinner, grapes, a Cutie, baby carrots

I think its safe to say my appetite is back to it’s usual self.

Those eggs are my favorite candy ever.  Yes, even more than peanut M&M’s.  Good thing they only come around once a year.  I am happy to say I think I have gained control over my sweet tooth because this amount was more than enough to satisfy me.

A few hours later…hungry again….

photo - Copy

1/2 low fat vanilla yogurt, chia seeds, almonds, chocolate protein bread.

This held me over for an entire hour.  I had a few peanuts & a few bites of granola before I decided to just eat something.  SO I had a bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats with Almond milk, which turned into two.  I suppose that will be my dinner because I am finally satisfied, for now at least.  See what I mean? It’s back with some friends!

Days like today make me both relieved and sort of uneasy.  Relieved that I don’t count every single calorie anymore and can trust my body to tell me when it needs extra food.  Uneasy because I can’t help but feel like there might be some underlying cause of my hunger that I am missing.  Did you not get enough sleep?  Are you stressed?  Worried?  I have this irrational fear that something is going to happen and I will gain all the weight back.  I know in my heart of hearts that won’t happen. I know that today is my body’s way of making up the difference from the past few days and possibly even last week as a total.  It’s still a big transition from actively dieting to intuitively eating.  I know it will take time to get used to.  I trust my body and I trust that the food I give it is being used for my benefit.

One thought on “Back with a Vengeance

  1. Hi Amanda – while outside exposure is the best way to get Vitamin D, due to clothing + sun exposure at higher latitudes, it is often best to still supplement. We’ve collected over 60+ research papers on our site, including one on how day laborers working all day in the sun were still Vitamin D deficient.

Leave a Reply

