Break Fast

It took me a long time to start eating breakfast. I still have a hard time “eating within an hour of waking” as the professionals suggest.  I have my coffee first thing and then it never fails that I am sufficiently hungry two hours later.  I used to have only coffee when I got up, starve my way through the morning and then allow myself to have a small lunch because I knew I needed to “save my points” for the afternoon when I would inevitably be famished.

When I started working out at the gym in the morning I found myself feeling really tired, slightly nauseated and not able to work out as hard as I did at home.  One morning Jeremy suggested I try a banana before I worked out.  My workout was so much better that day, so I tried it again the next day and the next.   I am now a breakfast eater!  I have found that the reason I was so famished in the afternoon was most likely due to the fact that my breakfast was not substantial enough or the wrong combination of foods to benefit me later.  I was also not keeping my blood sugar levels even by skipping that all important mid-morning snack.  Then my poor excuse for a lunch would never be enough to keep me fueled for the rest of my day.  I had heard over and over again to eat breakfast but I just blew it off because that did not work for me.  I wish I had realized that its incredibly important to have the right amount and balance of carbs, protein and good fats to keep your body fueled until the next pit stop.

Now I have my oats every morning

photo

This morning I ate a bit more than my usual combination.  With the way my schedule is today,  I want to make sure I don’t go into that terrible state of HANGRY again.

Hangry

source

1/3 c. old fashioned oats

1/2 c. unsweetened coconut milk

1 tbsp natural peanut butter

1 tsp chia seeds

1/2 of a small banana

I have found that I am much more satisfied in the afternoon when I have this type of breakfast.  It is also to important for me to eat a small snack of protein and good carbs right after my workout or within about 3 hours after breakfast.  The key is to eat real whole foods as close to the earth as possible and enough of them so your body has something to work with all day.

Leave a Reply

