Back to our regularly scheduled program

The last week has been CARAZY!  Beginning last Wednesday (when we spent 3 hours in and out of the urgent care clinic) until just yesterday afternoon trying to catch up on mounds of laundry and putting away birthday gifts. There was an ear infection, an  insurance company and pharmacy to deal with, a birthday, in-laws in town, cupcake baking, a birthday party, church, valentine treat making & baking, more valentine making, new cell phones to purchase, and a Valentine DATE!

This happens every year, the week between Aidan’s birthday and Valentine’s Day always blindsides me.  Even when I feel prepared for it….I never seem to have it all quite organized enough.  Something always throws my carefully orchestrated plan off course.   I love every minute of it.  AND I love getting back into my normal boring routine.

I have not been doing very well keeping up with my goals this week.  Sun-Tues there was way too much if this:

DSC00477

And NOT enough of this:

Workout picture

                  Source

Needless to say, by yesterday evening I didn’t care if I saw another chocolaty confection for the rest of my life. Sick smile  Ok, that’s a blatant lie…..but I think I am good until at least Easter….

I got myself up bright and early which was hard because I have been staying up too late and getting up too early, but I knew I had to get up at my normal time so I can get used to it again.  Blerg….

This always makes it easier:

photo (3)

For breakfast I was sure to get a proper one:

photo (2)

~ 1/4 c. old fashioned oats

~ 1/2 c. unsweetened coconut milk

~ 1 tsp chia seeds

~1/2 tbsp all natural peanut butter

~1/2 of a small banana

I was so ready to get back into the gym after a 4 day hiatus.  I jogged for 30 min on the treadmill and then did a lower body workout and my ab challenge.   It felt so good.   My stomach was talking to me by the end of my ab challenge so I refueled with this:

photo-1

Every time I have a few days of less than stellar eating and a lack of exercise, I always get a little panicked.  I can’t help but be fearful of falling back into my old eating habits and putting all the weight back on.  But as soon as I get back to my regularly scheduled program I remember the reason I started doing this in the first place.  I feel amazing and all that fear just melts away.

Leave a Reply

